Tag Archives: New Mexico St.

New Mexico State Set To Start Fall World Series On Saturday


NewMexicoStateFallBall LAS CRUCES, N.M. – The New Mexico State baseball team begins playing the fall Aggie World Series at Presley Askew Field, Saturday, Nov. 7 with first pitch set for 11:45 a.m. (MT).

The Aggies will split into two teams taking each other on in a seven game series which begins November 7 and is scheduled to last through November 17 to prepare for the upcoming spring season that starts Friday, Feb. 19, against Washington, in the Cactus Classic in Tucson, Ariz.

"We believe live play gives the players better experience and allows them to learn quicker," head coach Rocky Ward said. "This generates game-like situations and it gives us to look at how line ups can come together in the spring."

Continue reading New Mexico State Set To Start Fall World Series On Saturday

New Mexico State’s Tanner Rust Hopes To Be A Two Sport Star For The Aggies

NM State's Tanner Rust
NM State's Tanner Rust

By Sylvia Quintanilla, For NM State Athletic Media Relations

LAS CRUCES, N.M. – Some college athletes find it hard to balance life with a load of class work, their commitment to their sport and a social life, but there are some student athletes talented enough that they wouldn’t have it any other way.

New Mexico State third-string quarterback, Tanner Rust, is getting set to become only the 2nd Aggie to play both Football and Baseball at a collegiate level.

“Baseball and football are my life,” said Rust.

Continue reading New Mexico State’s Tanner Rust Hopes To Be A Two Sport Star For The Aggies

New Mexico State Announces 2010 Schedule


NewMexicoState LAS CRUCES, N.M. – New Mexico State baseball head coach Rocky Ward released the Aggies’ 2010 schedule, Friday, Sept. 11. The schedule features 35 home games and a series against the University of Southern California to close out the regular season.

The Aggies open the season with a tournament hosted by the University of Washington in Tucson, Feb. 19-21. The tournament will feature the Aggies playing against Washington, Gonzaga, and Missouri. Home play starts Feb. 23-24 with the University of the Southwest coming to Presley Askew Field before Akron shows up in Las Cruces Feb. 26-28.

"We are excited about opening the season on the road at a good, early tournament in Tucson and about having two very good teams coming in from the East," Ward said. "This schedule is a week longer than the last couple of years because of another rule change that gives us 14 weeks to play instead of 13. We are excited that for the first time in a couple of years we have a little more time between games."

Continue reading New Mexico State Announces 2010 Schedule

2009 ABCA/Rawlings Division I All-American Teams Announced

abca_BGOMAHA, Neb. – The American Baseball Coaches Association announced the ABCA/Rawlings Sporting Goods All-American teams on Wednesday, June 17.

Among the First Team honorees are six players participating in this year’s College World Series including Arizona State starting pitcher Mike Leake, LSU starting pitcher Louis Coleman, Arizona State catcher Carlos Ramirez, UNC first baseman Dustin Ackley, ASU outfielder Jason Kipnis and Virginia utility player Danny Hultzen. Continue reading 2009 ABCA/Rawlings Division I All-American Teams Announced

NCBWA District Players of the Year

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Nine of college baseball’s finest student-athletes have been named 2009 National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America District Players of the Year, as the NCBWA announced its 10th annual awards today.

The 2009 NCBWA District Players of the Year include first baseman/pitcher Mike Belfiore (Boston College), shortstop Jedd Gyorko (West Virginia), right fielder Kent Matthes (Alabama), first baseman Rich Poythress (Georgia), second baseman Derek McCallum (Minnesota), pitcher A.J. Morris (Kansas State), third baseman Anthony Rendon (Rice), shortstop Bryan Marquez (New Mexico State) and pitcher Stephen Strasburg (San Diego State). Continue reading NCBWA District Players of the Year

Fresno State Wins WAC Tournament

Fresno State
Fresno State


Fresno State’s Jordan Ribera hit a two-run homer in the first game of the day and followed it up with another in the championship as Fresno State defeated New Mexico State 9-7 in game one and 5-3 in the final to claim its fourth-straight WAC Tournament baseball title. Ribera went 2-for-3 in the championship game with two RBI, a home run and two runs scored. Matt Morse picked up the win in the championship after going 2.2 innings without giving up a run.  Fresno State receives the WAC’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. Pairings for the tournament will be announced Monday at 12:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Continue reading Fresno State Wins WAC Tournament

Brooks Wallace Award Finalists

bwa-logo-2009LUBBOCK, Texas – The finalists for the Brooks Wallace Award, honoring the nation’s top shortstop, have been selected by the College Baseball Foundation. The finalist watch list is sponsored by Mizuno.

“It was a very tough decision,” said Raymond Richardson, College Baseball Awards Show chairman and CBF Trustee. “All five of these players are standouts.” Continue reading Brooks Wallace Award Finalists

WAC Tournament Day One Recap/Day Two Preview

09wacbsbtourneyDay one of the WAC tournament saw some exciting baseball be played and as was the case all season long the games’ final scores were indicative of how closely bunched the league has been this season. The top two seeds in the tournament, San Jose State (over Nevada) and Louisiana Tech (over Hawai’i) won their opening day games while 4-seed New Mexico State handed 3-seed Fresno State their first loss in tournament play in the past three season (the Bulldogs had previously been 12-0).
Continue reading WAC Tournament Day One Recap/Day Two Preview

2009 WAC Tournament Preview

09wacbsbtourneyThe WAC tournament begins today and the six teams that are participating are the six teams that were picked in the preseason to be in Honolulu at the end of the season. However, that’s where the good prognostication ends.

Fresno State, the three time defending regular season, conference tournament and defending national champion was once again picked to win the league but they faltered in the early part of the conference season and nearly missed the conference tournament but used a four game sweep on the final weekend of play to go from 7th place to a tie for third place. Nevada, the team picked to finish third in the league was swept in the final two weekends of play to finish sixth. At one point the Wolf Pack were in first place in the league. Continue reading 2009 WAC Tournament Preview

WAC Postseason Awards Announced

Courtesy: Fresno State
Courtesy: Fresno State


HONOLULU, HI – The Western Athletic Conference today released its 2009 all-WAC baseball teams and postseason awards as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Fresno State senior third baseman Tom Mendonca was named the Player of the Year and San Jose State senior Ryan Shopshire earned Pitcher of the Year honors. The Freshman of the Year award went to Hawai‘i outfielder Kolten Wong.  San Jose State’s Sam Piraro was named WAC Coach of the Year.
Continue reading WAC Postseason Awards Announced