Tag Archives: 2011 Coach of the Year


South Carolina’s Ray Tanner named Coach of the Year

Columbia, S.C. – South Carolina head coach Ray Tanner has been named National Coach of The Year by “Collegiate Baseball” newspaper. One of the most respected coaches in college baseball, Tanner led the Gamecocks to their second consecutive national championship at the recent College World Series. This is the third time in Tanner’s career that he has earned National Coach of the Year honors as he also picked up the accolade in 2000 from Baseball America as well as in 2010 by Baseball America and Collegiate Baseball. Continue reading

Esquer COY

Cal’s David Esquer named 2011 NCBWA Coach of the Year

COLORADO SPRINGS – After his team was scheduled to be discontinued after the 2011 season, California head coach David Esquer led the Golden Bears to the program’s first appearance at the NCAA College World Series since 1992, while earning him the National Coach of the Year Award presented by the National College Baseball Writers Association. Continue reading