Tag Archives: 2008 Coach of the Year

Fresno State’s Mike Batesole Named 2008 NCBWA National Coach of the Year


DALLAS, TX -The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) has announced today that its inaugural National Coach of the Year Award will go to Fresno State skipper Mike Batesole.  The award, which was voted on by the NCBWA Board of Directors, was chosen from a list that included all Division I Conference Coaches of the Year.

Batesole has led the Bulldogs (42-29) to their College World Series since 1991 and guided Fresno State to Omaha as the first No. 4 seed to advance to the CWS since the 64-team format was introduced in 1999.  He earned Western Athletic Conference Coach of the Year honors for the first time after Fresno State won their third consecutive regular season WAC title.

Continue reading