College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2011 Johnny Bench Award Semifinalists

WICHITA, KANSAS – The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced today the thirteen semifinalists for the 2011 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by Papa John’s Pizza.

The Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award semifinalists are (in alphabetical order):

• Tony Caldwell, Auburn University;
• Curt Casali, Vanderbilt University;
• John Hicks, University of Virginia;
• Tyler Jones, Long Island University;
• Jake Lowery, James Madison University;
• James McCann, University of Arkansas;
• Chris O’Brien, Wichita State University;
• Tyler Ogle, University of Oklahoma;
• Kevin Plawecki, Purdue University;
• Matt Rice, Western Kentucky University;
• Nick Rickles, Stetson University;
• Derek Trent, East Tennessee State University and
• Mike Zunino, University of Florida.

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 6, 2011. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and Johnny Bench will present the award at the 14th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 30, 2011

  • Anonymous

    u00a0Are you surprisedu00a0Bethune-Cookman’s Peter O’Brien isn’t a semifinalist?

    • A little actually but he is a pure power hitter and has struggled with his average last time I checked!rnrnBrian FoleyrnSent on the Sprintu00ae Now Network from my BlackBerryu00ae

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme