College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Fresno State releases 2011 Schedule

FRESNO, Calif. – Head coach Mike Batesole announced the 2011 baseball schedule Friday morning. The season features 34 home games with series against Oregon State, Washington State, San Diego and Ohio State. The Bulldogs face four opponents who appeared in last’s NCAA Tournament.

“Our 2011 schedule will bring some exciting teams to Fresno State,” said Batesole, two-time National Coach of the Year. “Many of whom are projected to be the best in their perspective conferences. Oregon State and Washington State (Pac-10), Pepperdine and San Diego (WCC), Hawaii and Nevada (WAC), and Ohio State (Big-10) all will be on our home schedule, which will make for some exciting baseball at Beiden Field.”

The Dogs open the season against Gonzaga and Oregon State Feb. 18-21. Oregon State won back-to-back National Championships in 2006 and 2007. Last year, the Beavers ended the season 32-24 at the Gainesville Regional. The Dogs play Oregon State Feb. 20-21.

The Bulldogs face familiar WCC foes with Pepperdine and San Diego each coming to Beiden Field for series. The Toreros won the 2010 WCC title and automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. San Diego lost in the first round and finished the season 37-21. Pepperdine ended the season with an overall record of 24-30 and 12-9 in conference play.

In March, Washington State and Ohio State roll into Fresno. The Dogs welcome Washington State March 17-20 and Ohio State March 22-23. Last season, the Cougars of Washington State made their second consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament. WSU finished the season 37-22 and advanced to the championship game in the Arkansas Regional. Ohio State finished the season 28-23 last season. The Buckeyes are the first Big Team to visit Beiden Field since 2008, when the Dogs hosted Indiana.

Fresno State begins Western Athletic Conference play in April against San Jose State on the road. The defending regular season champions host defending WAC Tournament Champions Hawai’i, Nevada and New Mexico State at home this season.

The Dogs close out the season with the WAC Tournament in Mesa, Ariz. starting May 25.

Full 2011 Schedule (PDF)

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme