College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Schedule Set for 2010 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship


Regular season champion Texas will be the top seed at the 2010 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship scheduled for May 26-30 at AT&T Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City. It marks the 12th time the championship has been played at this venue.

The Longhorns clinched their sixth Big 12 regular season title (2002, ‘04, ‘06-07, and ‘09) against Kansas State on May 8. They have won four of the last five crowns. UT posted a 24-3 record (.889), setting a Big 12 record for most conference victories in a season. Texas also established the mark for consecutive league wins (17).

For the fourth straight week, UT is ranked No. 1 in the nation. The Longhorns top the Collegiate Baseball, NCBWA and USA Today/ESPN Coaches’ polls, while receiving a No. 2 ranking from Baseball America.

The eight teams with the best league records (based on winning percentage) in regular season competition have qualified for the Championship. Baylor, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas A&M and Texas Tech will join defending postseason winner UT in the 2010 field. The event is in a two-division, pool play format, in which each of the squads competing is guaranteed a minimum of three games. The tournament winner receives the Big 12’s automatic berth into the NCAA Baseball Championship.

Past postseason championship winners include Kansas (2006), Nebraska (1999-2001, ‘05), Oklahoma (1997), Oklahoma State (2004), Texas (2002, ‘03, ‘08-‘09), Texas A&M (2007) and Texas Tech (1998).

Live action from the Championship will be video streamed free on the Big 12 Conference’s official Web site, for the fourth year in a row. Audio from the webcast will also be broadcast on Sirius XM Radio (Sirius 217-best of XM/XM 231), a Big 12 corporate partner.

Each game leading up to the championship final (Wednesday-Saturday) will be available. All contests and press conferences will be archived in their entirety, along with the postgame celebration on Sunday afternoon. FSN will televise the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship title contest at 1 p.m. CDT on Sunday, May 30. Check local listings for more information.

Single-session tickets for the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship will go on sale at 9 a.m. on Monday, May 24. Prices range from $13-44, while all-session tickets are available from $92-232. All tickets for the event can be purchased by calling the Oklahoma City RedHawks Box Office at (405) 218-1000 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting (405) 218-1000 end_of_the_skype_highlighting, or online at

Wednesday, May 26
Game 1: No. 4 Texas A&M vs. No. 5 Texas Tech 9:00 a.m.
Game 2: No. 1 Texas vs. No. 8 Missouri 12:30 p.m.
Game 3: No. 3 Kansas State vs. No. 6 Baylor 4:00 p.m.
Game 4: No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 7 Kansas 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 27
Game 5: No. 1 Texas vs. No. 5 Texas Tech 3:00 p.m.
Game 6: No. 4 Texas A&M vs. No. 8 Missouri 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 28
Game 7: No. 3 Kansas State vs. No. 7 Kansas 3:00 p.m.
Game 8: No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 6 Baylor 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 29
Game 9: No. 5 Texas Tech vs. No. 8 Missouri 9:00 a.m.
Game 10: No. 1 Texas vs. No. 4 Texas A&M 12:30 p.m.
Game 11: No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Kansas State 4:00 p.m.
Game 12: No. 6 Baylor vs. No. 7 Kansas 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 30
Game 13: Division 1 Champion vs. Division 2 Champion {FSN} 1:00 p.m.

All times Central and subject to change.

Pool 1
#1 Texas
#4 Texas A&M
#5 Texas Tech
#8 Missouri

Pool 2
#2 Oklahoma
#3 Kansas State
#6 Baylor
#7 Kansas

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme