College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

The Citadel releases 2010 Schedule


CitadelRelease Charleston, S.C. – The Citadel baseball team released their 2010 schedule today. The Bulldogs will host 34 games at Riley Park this season, including their first seven contests of the year.

"This is a very demanding and exciting challenge for this young ballclub," said Head Coach Fred Jordan. The schedule features five teams that participated in the NCAA Tournament a season ago with South Carolina, Coastal Carolina, Kansas State, Elon and Georgia Southern on the slate.

The non-conference schedule is highlighted by a four-game set at the University of Hawaii from March 4-6. The Bulldogs return to Honolulu after competing with the Warriors in 2004. The season starts with home games against East Tennessee State, Delaware and Kansas State from Feb. 19-22 followed by three games against St. Joseph’s, Marshall and Radford on Feb. 26-28 at Riley Park.

USC Upstate, VMI, Coastal Carolina, Winthrop, Charleston Southern, South Carolina, College of Charleston and Mercer all highlight midweek contests for The Citadel.

In the Southern Conference, The Citadel welcomes Western Carolina from March 12-14 followed by a road trip to Elon on March 19-21. Appalachian State will come to Riley Park on March 26-28, followed by a trip to the upstate to battle Wofford on April 2-4. The Bulldogs step out of conference on April 9-11 when they host Indiana State. Furman and Davidson then visit Riley Park in back-to-back weekends on April 16-18 and April 23-28.

The Bulldogs will head on the road for two conference series beginning April 30-May 2 at Samford, followed by games across town at the College of Charleston from May 7-9.

The Citadel will conclude their home contests with a series against UNC Greensboro on May 14-16. The Bulldogs close out the regular season at defending SoCon Tournament champion Georgia Southern on May 20-22.

The Southern Conference Tournament returns to Riley Park in 2010, a year after Greenville hosted the event. The format from 2009 will remain the same with only the top eight teams qualifying. The tournament will begin on Wednesday, May 26 with the championship game on Sunday, May 30.

2010 Full Schedule (PDF)

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme