College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Appalachin State to host Fall Series this weekend


MattAndress BOONE, N.C. — Appalachian State University baseball holds its annual Fall World Series this weekend at Beaver Field at Jim and Bettie Smith Stadium. First-pitch times for the three-game, intrasquad series are set for 3 p.m. Friday, 7 p.m. Saturday and 1 p.m. Sunday. The games are open to the public and admission is free.


This year’s battle for winter-long bragging rights features the Gold Diggers (Gold), captained by seniors Chris Alessandria, Michael Brogan, Jerod Faggart, Frankie Lewis and Chris Trappy, versus the Make Them Hate The Game (Black) squad, captained by seniors Matt Andress, Wes Hobson, Chris Patterson and David Towarnicky. The seniors drafted their respective squads and are responsible for managing the teams, including making out the starting lineups for each game.

The Fall World Series marks the culmination of the fall practice season. Appalachian opens the 2010 campaign on Friday, Feb. 19 when it squares off with Presbyterian at the Marriott Classic in Spartanburg, S.C.

Gold Diggers (Gold Team) Make Them Hate The Game (Black Team)
OF Chris Alessandria (Sr.) RHP Matt Andress (Sr.)
LHP Michael Brogan (Sr.) RHP/OF Ryan Arrowood (So.)
IF Hector Crespo (Fr.) OF/IF Zack Briggs (So.)
C Jerod Faggart (Sr.) C Derek Brown (Fr.)
RHP Kurt Frisbee (Jr.) C Jeremy Dowdy (So.)
RHP Seth Grant (So.) LHP Ryne Frankoff (Fr.)
IF William Head (Fr.) IF Wes Hobson (Sr.)
LHP/OF Will Helms (So.) RHP/IF Nathan Hyatt (Fr.)
RHP Jordan Jessup (Jr.) LHP Tyler Jackson (Fr.)
LHP/OF Zach Joyce (Fr.) IF Doug Jones (So.)
IF Daniel Kassouf (Jr.) RHP Tyler Moore (So.)
RHP Sammy Lett (Fr.) RHP Chris Patterson (Sr.)
IF Frankie Lewis (Sr.) RHP/IF David Port (So.)
RHP Taylor Miller (Jr.) IF David Towarnicky (Sr.)
OF Jack Myers (Jr.) LHP Ryan Waldrep (Fr.)
RHP Randy Shepherd (Fr.) OF Jason Wallace (Jr.)
OF Ryan Stetson (Fr.) C/IF/OF Josh Zumbrook (Fr.)
C Tyler Tewell (Fr.) OF Tyler Zupcic (Fr.)
C Chris Trappy (Sr.)  

Gold Black
1) Faggart – C 1) Jones – SS
2) Lewis – 3B 2) Arrowood – 3B
3) Trappy – DH 3) Hobson – 2B
4) Kassouf – 1B 4) Towarnicky – 1B
5) Myers – CF 5) Dowdy – C
6) Helms – LF 6) Wallace – LF
7) Head – 2B 7) Briggs – DH
8) Crespo – SS 8) Zumbrook – RF
9) Stetson – RF 9) Zupcic – CF
SP) Jessup SP) Andress

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme