College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2009 Johnny Bench Award Watch List

The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced the official watch list for the 2009 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by Papa John’s Pizza. Forty-four catchers were nominated for the award by their coaches. Because the award is given annually to the top division one collegiate catcher, the list will be updated to include other candidates until May 4, 2009.

2009 Coleman Company – Johnny Bench Award
delivered by Papa John’s Pizza Watch List

Buck Afenir SR, University of Kansas
Billy Alvino SR, High Point University
Jeff Arnold JR, University of Louisville
Brett Basham SR, University of Mississippi
Matt Behren SR, University of Northern Illinois
Dan Benedetti SR, St. John’s University
Griffin Benedict SR, Georgia Southern University
Dan Burkhart SO, Ohio State University
Ryan Cisterna SR, University of Arkansas
Nick Criaris SR, Florida Atlantic Universiity
David Doss SR, University of South Alabama
Aaron Dudley JR, The University of Toledo
Scott Dunwoody SR, University of Dayton
Jeffrey Farnham SR, New Mexico State University
Stephen Flora SR, Texas A&M – Corpus Christi
Taylor Freeman JR, McNeese State
Micah Gibbs SO, Louisiana State University
Andrew Giobbi JR, Vanderbilt University
Jason Haniger SR, Georgia Tech
Bryan Holaday JR, Texas Christian University
Errol Hollinger SR, Liberty University
Richard Jones JR, The Citadel
Mark Kelly SR, Southern Illinois University
Reid Kraiser SR, UNC Asheville
Greg Lagreid SR, Washington State University
Ryan Lipkin JR, University of San Francisco
Myckie Lugbauer JR, Univesity of Maine
Tommy Medica JR, Santa Clara University
Marc Mimeault SR, Georgia State University
Mike Murray JR, Wake Forest University
Rafael Neda SO, University of New Mexico
Jeff Nolet, SR, University of Vermont
Bryce Nugent SO, Marist College
Joe Oliveira SR, University of the Pacific
Ryan Ortiz JR, Oregon State University
John Parham SR, Cal State Northridge
Josh Phegley JR, Indiana Univeristy
Brandon Romans SR, University of Central Florida
Tony Sanchez JR, Boston College
Tobias Streich SO, West Virginia University
Dallas Tarleton SR, Elon University
Michael Thomas JR, Southern University
John Turk JR, The University of Akron
Matt Williams SR, Duke University

The watch list will be narrowed down to ten semifinalists, whom will be announced May 14, 2009. Statistics will be compiled on each of the semifinalists and sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 3, 2009 prior to the NCAA Super Regionals and Major League Baseball Draft. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 12th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 26, 2009.

  • ppscout

    Man there are some weak links on this list. Half this list contains catchers that are playing out of position. Benedetti from St Johns for example should be playing second base for a D-3 school.

  • That might be a little harsh…

  • Sooner1775

    Yes-it might be a little harsh-after seeing him in the Houston Regional, 1st Base would be more appropriate-the kid’s mobile though-likes to bunt leading by 10-good for the stats-certainly representative of Bench

  • ppscout

    Jeff Nolet UVM lol. It is time to start narrowing this list before Bench takes his name off it. Nolet, Benedetti …. and so on oh my

  • milreview

    If this was anything like last years list, it will include catchers that are not great athletes, just happen to be on great teams. Too bad.

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme