College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2009 Golden Spikes Award Watch List

(DURHAM, N.C.) – USA Baseball announced its preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List Tuesday, marking the organization’s first step toward identifying the top player in college baseball. Sponsored by Major League Baseball, the Golden Spikes Award will be presented in 2009 for the 32nd time.

The watch list features 50 of the nation’s top collegiate talents, and it will be a “rolling” list to ensure that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the Golden Spikes Award.

Headlining the 2009 watch list is San Diego State hurler and 2008 Olympian Stephen Strasburg. Strasburg went 8-3 with the Aztecs in 2008 compiling 133 strikeouts and only 16 walks, including a 23-strikeout performance against Utah on April 11. Strasburg followed his All-America sophomore season with starring roles on both the USA Baseball National (Collegiate) and Olympic Team pitching staffs. The right-hander went 3-0 with 48 strikeouts for the National Team and, as the only collegian on the Olympic squad, led the U.S. pitching staff with 16 strikeouts in 11 innings of work en route to a bronze medal.

Strasburg, a 2008 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist, is joined on the list by Dustin Ackley (North Carolina), Kentrail Davis (Tennessee), Chris Dominguez (Louisville), and Alex White (North Carolina), all of whom are looking to improve upon their 2008 semifinalist finish as well. Louisiana State and North Carolina lead all schools with three nominees each.

Conferences boasting the most players on the watch list include the PAC-10 and the SEC with eight names, the ACC with six, and the Big 12 with five.

“We’re very pleased to announce the 50 members of the preseason watch list for the 2009 Golden Spikes Award,” said Paul Seiler, Executive Director/CEO of USA Baseball.

“The talent in college baseball is growing exponentially and to see quality players such as these recognized for this prestigious award speaks highly in regards to the caliber of athletes playing the game of baseball today.”

On May 26, USA Baseball officials will cut the watch list of players to 30 names. The final list of 30 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of select professional baseball personnel, past USA Baseball National Team coaches, select members of the media, former USA Baseball sports information directors, and current USA Baseball staff – close to 150 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2009. May 26 will also mark the day
when college baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite player for the Golden Spikes Award on As part of this selection process all voters will be asked to choose five players from the list of 30 names. On June 2, USA Baseball will announce the five finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

The 2009 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award will be presented nationally July 15 on an award show via live telecast from St. Louis in conjunction with the 2009 Major League Baseball All-Star Weekend Festivities.

Past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006), David Price (2007), and last year’s winner Buster Posey (2008).

2009 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Important Dates
• Friday, February 20 – NCAA baseball season opens
• Tuesday, May 26 – 30 semifinalists announced
• Tuesday, June 2 – Five finalists announced
• Tuesday, July 14 – 2009 MLB All-Star Game in St. Louis
• Wednesday, July 15 – Golden Spikes Award presentation live from St. Louis
The complete 2009 preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List is attached below.

About USA Baseball
USA Baseball is the National Governing Body of amateur baseball in the United States and is a member of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC). The organization selects and trains the United States Olympic Baseball Team (and all other USA Baseball Professional Teams); the USA Baseball National Team (collegiate); the USA Baseball 18U, 16U and 14U National Teams; and the USA Baseball Women’s National Team, all of which participate in various international competitions each year. For more information, please visit

Name School Pos Class
Jason Stoffel Arizona RHP Jr.
Jason Kipnis Arizona State OF Jr.
Mike Leake Arizona State RHP/IF Jr.
Kendal Volz Baylor RHP Jr.
Josh Fellhauer Cal State Fullerton OF Jr.
Blake Smith California OF/RHP Jr.
Brett Jackson California OF Jr.
Shane Davis Canisius LHP So.
Rob Lyerly Charlotte OF/1B Jr.
Scott Woodward Coastal Carolina 3B So.
Brandon Sizemore College of Charleston 2B Sr.
Cory Harrilchak Elon OF Sr.
Matt den Dekker Florida OF Jr.
Robbie Shields Florida Southern SS Jr.
Tommy Mendonca Fresno State 3B Jr.
Alan Ahmady Fresno State 1B Jr.
Rich Poythress Georgia 1B Jr.
Derek Dietrich Georgia Tech SS So.
Josh Phegley Indiana C Jr.
Ben Tootle Jacksonville State RHP Jr.
Greg Rohan Kent State 1B Sr.
Chris Dominguez Louisville 3B Jr.
Justin Marks Louisville LHP Jr.
Blake Dean LSU OF Jr.
D.J. LeMahieu LSU SS So.
Micah Gibbs LSU C So.
Nate Lape Marshall OF Sr.
Chris Hernandez Miami LHP So.
Ryan Jackson Miami SS Jr.
Chris Fetter Michigan RHP Sr.
Scott Bittle Mississippi RHP Sr.
Kyle Gibson Missouri RHP Jr.
Tim Clubb Missouri State RHP Jr.
A.J. Pollock Notre Dame OF Jr.
Andrew Oliver Oklahoma State LHP Jr.
Tyler Lyons Oklahoma State LHP Jr.
Jerry Sulivan Oral Roberts RHP Jr.
Ryan Ortiz Oregon State C Jr.
Diego Seastrunk Rice C Jr.
A.J. Griffin San Diego RHP Jr.
Stephen Strasburg San Diego State RHP Jr.
Grant Green Southern Cal SS Jr.
Jeff Inman Stanford RHP Jr.
Kentrail Davis Tennessee OF So.
Luke Anders Texas A&M 1B Sr.
Eric Pettis UC Irvine RHP Jr.
Alex White UNC RHP Jr.
Dustin Ackley UNC 1B Jr.
Matt Harvey UNC RHP So.
Mike Minor Vanderbilt LHP Jr.

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme