College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Western Major Baseball League playoffs enter second round

The Division Finals of the Western Major Baseball League start on Thursday, August 7, and the matchups are the Sherwood Park (AB) Dukes vs. the Okotoks (AB) Dawgs, and the Regina (SK) Red Sox vs. the Swift Current (SK) Indians.

The Dukes are led by Dan Grant (Northern Iowa; .403, 4 HR, 38 RBI) and Casey Barnes (Kansas Wesleyan; 5-4, 2.76 ERA, 67 K). They defeated the Saskatoon Yellow Jackets three games to one in the first round.

The Dawgs have Manny Kumar (Grambling State; .336, 3 HR, 28 RBI) and Jake Bottari (College of Idaho; 5-0, 0.84 RBI, 43 K). They swept the Lethbridge Bulls in the first round.

The Red Sox are led by Cory Hall (Taft CC; .339, 22 RBI) and Cody Poche (Missouri Baptist; 4-2, 3.88 ERA, 51 K). Poche is on an 18 inning scoreless streak. They defeated the Melville Millionaires 3-1 in the first round.

The Indians have Conrad Funk (Winthrop; .397, 1 HR, 36 RBI), Dustin Bisonette (LSU-Shreveport; .356, 2 HR, 35 RBI), Nick Bratney (George Fox; 6-0, 1.18 ERA, 24 K), and Brian Strawn (Nebraska-Omaha; 4-0, 1.43 ERA, 52 K). They swept the Yorkton Cardinals in the first round.

WMBL official site:

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme