Tag Archives: Roger Clemens Award

Missouri’s Crow Wins Clemens Award

Aaron Crow
Aaron Crow

HOUSTON, TX – Missouri pitcher Aaron Crow is the winner of the 2008 Roger Clemens Award. Crow was presented the award by Roger Clemens on Monday, August 25, 2008.

The Roger Clemens Award honors the top pitcher in college baseball each year. Crow was undefeated in 2008 with a 13-0 record and a 2.35 earned run average with the Missouri Tigers. Crow struck out 127 batters in 107.1 innings, leading Missouri to the NCAA Regionals. In addition to winning the Roger Clemens Award, the junior from Wakarusa, Kan., was the Big 12 pitcher of the year and a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award.
Continue reading

Crow, Fields, Hernandez and Matusz Named Clemens Finalists

HOUSTON — Aaron Crow of Missouri, Joshua Fields of Georgia, Chris Hernandez of Miami (Fla.) and Brian Matusz of San Diego have been selected as finalists for The Roger Clemens Award, which honors the top pitcher in college baseball. The winner will be announced this summer in Houston.

The four pitchers were selected from a field of 10 semifinalists in a national vote of all Division 1 head baseball coaches, selected national college baseball media, previous winners of the R. E. “Bob” Smith Award, which was presented to the top player in college baseball in 1988-2003, and the 13 previous finalists for the Clemens Award. Continue reading

2008 Roger Clemens Award Watch List

The 2008 Roger Clemens Award Watch list members was recently announced with 78 players. The list is led by Jacob Thompson of Virginia who was a finalist for the award in 2007 after going 14-0. The list has ten players from the SEC which is the most for any conference with Rice and Arizona State having the most representatives with three each. The full list is available in PDF format by clicking here.