Tag Archives: Preseason Rankings

CBB’s NAIA Pre-season Top 10

The 53rd NAIA baseball season starts on Friday, with Belhaven at Spring Hill (Mobile, AL), La Sierra at Concordia-Irvine, LSU-Shreveport at U. of Mobile, Bethany (CA) at San Diego Christian, Wayland Baptist at Texas-Brownsville, and Patten at The Master’s (Santa Clarita, CA). The LSU-Shreveport-U. Of Mobile matchup should be a good one; they were #9 and #8 in the ISR ranking at the end of last season. Continue reading

All CAA Preseason Baseball Team

George Mason's Scott Krieger celebrates one of his four home runs in last year's CAA Tournament.
George Mason's Scott Krieger celebrates one of his four home runs in last year's CAA Tournament.


RICHMOND, Va. (January 15, 2009) – George Mason senior outfielder Scott Krieger was selected as the 2009 CAA baseball preseason Player of the Year in voting by the league’s head coaches.

Krieger batted .381 with 16 doubles, a school-record 21 homers and 60 RBI in 2008 and has already been named to preseason All-America teams selected by Collegiate Baseball and Ping! Baseball. Krieger earned second-team All-CAA honors a year ago and was a first-team all-conference pick as a sophomore after hitting .365 with 20 homers and 68 RBI. He also received CAA All-Tournament team accolades in 2008 after belting five homers and setting tournament records with 14 RBI and 32 total bases in four games. Krieger is on pace to become Mason’s career leader in several offensive categories.
Continue reading

2008 CAA Preseason Poll

Old Dominion is the overwhelming favorite to capture the CAA baseball championship in 2008 according to a vote of the league’s head baseball coaches.

The Monarchs finished atop the poll with 99 points and received nine of a possible 10 first-place votes since coaches weren’t allowed to rank their own teams. Continue reading


TUCSON, Ariz. — The University of Arizona has been ranked No. 1 in Collegiate Baseball newspaper’s Fabulous 40 pre-season NCAA Division I poll.

The Wildcats have their strongest team since winning national championships in 1976, 1980 and 1986 as nine position player starters are back along with seven superb pitchers from a team which finished second in the Pac-10 Conference a year ago with a 42-17 overall record. Continue reading