Tag Archives: NCBWA

Kentucky’s AJ Reed wins 2014 Dick Howser Award

AJReedOMAHA, Neb. – Kentucky junior pitcher/first baseman A.J. Reed, who enjoyed possibly the greatest individual season in UK history this year, is the 28th recipient of the Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations, as college baseball’s Player of the Year. The presentation was made Saturday during a national news conference at TD Ameritrade Park, site of the 2014 College World Series. Continue reading

UC-Irvine’s Mike Gillespie named NCBWA Coach of the Year

MikeGillespieOMAHA – One of college baseballs most accomplished skippers, UC Irvine’s Mike Gillespie, was tabbed as the 2014 National College Baseball Writers Association Coach of the Year by the association at a national media conference on Saturday, June 14, at TD Ameritrade Park. Gillespie is the seventh recipient of the annual award that is voted upon by the NCBWA Board of Directors. Continue reading

2014 NCBWA Freshman All-American Teams

NCBWA LogoLYNCHBURG, VA. (NCBWA) – A total of 32 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 2014 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American team, the organization announced today.

The 2014 NCBWA Freshman All-America team features players from 17 leagues and six conference championship teams. The two All-American squads also are made up of 12 conference “Rookie of the Year” winners. In addition, 22 all-conference honorees were named to the team. Continue reading

2014 NCBWA Top 30 Poll (June 3rd)

NCBWA LogoDALLAS – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association continues its tradition of NCAA Division I polls for the 17th year with its 2014 weekly surveys. Polls will be circulated from Feb. 17-June 26 following the 68th annual NCAA World Series in Omaha, Neb., at TD Ameritade Park.

Louisiana-Lafayette was ranked No. 1 for the first time ever in the NCBWA survey on May 26, holds down that same location this week and joins Virginia (eight weeks), Oregon State (four weeks – Feb. 17, May 5-12-19), Florida State (March 17), South Carolina (March 10), and Cal State Fullerton (preseason No. 1) as top of the pole sitters after 17 weeks of surveys in 2014. This tops last season’s five total teams at No. 1 during the entire January-June NCBWA compilations with six different top-ranked schools held that distinction. ULL also is the first Sun Belt Conference school ever to gain placement atop the rankings. Continue reading

NCBWA Players of the Week (May 6th)

NCBWA LogoMORGANTOWN, W.Va – The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) released its National Player of the Week awards for the period ending May 4 today. Florida junior second baseman Casey Turgeon was named National Hitter of the Week, while Oregon State junior left-handed pitcher Jace Fry was named National Pitcher of the Week. The NCBWA Board reviews candidates from each Division I Conference each week and names winners each Tuesday throughout the season. Continue reading