Photos Courtesy of David Cohen.
FULLERTON, Calif. – Austin Diemer charged in on Kevin Kramer’s line drive in the 10th inning Friday evening at Goodwin Field. Brian Carroll initially began to sprint from first base toward second but realized the ball was hanging up. He put on the brakes, stopping about 40 feet off first.
As the ball began descended toward the spot Diemer was about to be, Carroll began to return back to first. But he only took two steps before reversing course once more. Diemer tried to catch it straight on with his glove tilted forward rather than turning his glove sideways or attempting a basket catch.
Kramer’s sinking liner hit Dimer’s glove. Instead of sticking in his webbing when he tried to clasp down on the ball, the ball hit the palm of his glove and slipped off the fingertips as Diemer attempted to close the mitt. Carroll and Kramer were unable to take extra bases as the ball fell right behind Diemer, but the “hit,” as it was ruled by the official scorer, set up Eric Filia’s fourth single — a game-winning grounder through the right side. Read the rest of this entry »