Tag Archives: Brooks Wallace Award

Brooks Wallace National Player of the Year Semi-Finalists

Lubbock, Texas – As eight teams load up and head to Omaha to continue the quest for the College Baseball National Championship, eight players are named as semi-finalists for the Brooks Wallace National Player of Year Award. College baseball has produced a fine class of young men to represent the “Wallace Watch” from the pre-season release to where it stands today.
Continue reading

2008 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award

.Lubbock, Texas – College baseball has narrowed to only 16 teams playing in the Super Regionals, which means the Brooks Wallace National Player of the Year “Wallace Watch” is down to 16 talented players. Twelve players on the “Wallace Watch” will not only take the field this weekend in hopes of securing a spot in the College World Series, but also a spot as one of the top three finalists in pursuit of this year’s Wallace Award. The award will be presented among the legends of college baseball – the 2008 College Baseball Hall of Fame inductees. Continue reading

College Baseball Foundation’s Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Revised “Wallace Watch”

Lubbock, Texas – The field of candidates aiming for the 2008 Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award was reduced to 100 today, as announced by the College Baseball Foundation in Lubbock, TX. Brett Wallace (Arizona State) and Ryan Lavarnway (Yale) were 2007 semifinalists who are now in pursuit of this year’s award. Notable additions to the ’08 list include Buster Posey (Florida State), Josh Romanski (San Diego) and Sawyer Carroll (Kentucky). The Wallace Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate baseball player and will be nationally televised on Fox College Sports. Continue reading

Texas has three players named to Wallace Award Watch List!

Preston ClarkWhen the initial list came out I made a comment on the article that I was surprise to see that Preston Clark was not on the initial list. Well as of Today Preston Clark has made the list. Preston Clark will be a very key member of the defense. The infield will have to replace two seniors and 3rd baseman Bradley Suttle who was drafted by the New York Yankees in the 4th round. With Preston behind the plate for his 3rd season his leadership will be called upon to make sure that the infield is set and in the right position. Preston belongs on the list as well as Jordan Danks and Kyle Russell. To read the full Article click here.

2008 Brooks Wallace Watch List released

Lubbock, Texas – Pedro Alvarez of Vanderbilt, Ryan Lavarnway of Yale, Kyle Russell of Texas and Brett Wallace of Arizona State highlight the list of players named to the pre-season release of the 2008 Brooks Wallace Player of the Year Award Watch List.

“After a great fall baseball season, we can see that the talent level in college baseball will once again be great. We have several from last year’s Wallace Watch that we will continue to follow, and we look forward to tracking the new additions as well”, said Raymond Richardson, Chair of Brooks Wallace National Player of the Year Award Committee. Continue reading

David Price Named Brooks Wallace Award Winner

David Price of Vanderbilt University picked up the 2007 Brooks Wallace Award for being the national player of the year in Collegiate Baseball. He led the Vanderbilt Commodores to a 54-13 record while individually going 11-1 on the season with his lone loss coming in the Regional Championship game loss to Michigan. Price ended up getting picked by the Tampa Bay Devil Rays with the first overall pick in the MLB draft in June. Full press release coming soon!

CSTV Release

I Want to be a Sports Agent blog recently sat down and did an interview with David Price in which he discusses many different topics in which he has faced during his college baseball days. The full interview is available here.