Tag Archives: 2012 Top Players


Mike Zunino named 2012 Golden Spikes Award Winner

SECAUCUS, N.J. — USA Baseball announced Friday the selection of Florida’s Mike Zunino as the recipient of the 2012 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award (GSA). The prestigious award, now in its 35th year of recognizing the nation’s top amateur baseball player, was presented live on MLB Network. Continue reading


FSU’s James Ramsey named 2012 Lowe’s Senior Class Award Winner

OMAHA, Neb. (June 21, 2012) – Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and All-American outfielder James Ramsey of Florida State University has been selected as the 2012 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award winner in NCAA® Division I baseball. The announcement and trophy presentation were made today by Lowe’s, an official corporate partner of the NCAA, during the NCAA College World Series®. Continue reading


2012 NCBWA All-American Teams Announced

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. – After two rounds of voting by the organization, 56 baseball student-athletes comprise the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association’s 17th Annual All-America first, second and third teams, as announced on Wednesday.

Twenty-one different conferences are represented, one independent and eight conference championships teams. The three All-America squads are also made up of 10 conference players of the year, seven conference pitchers of the year winners and 10 first-round draft picks in the recent Major League Baseball Amateur Draft. Continue reading


2012 NCBWA Freshman Hitter and Pitcher of the Year

LYNCHBURG, VA. (NCBWA) – Oregon State outfielder Michael Conforto and N.C. State right-handed pitcher Carlos Rodon have been named the 2012 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Freshman Hitter and Pitcher of the Year recipients, as announced by the organization today. Continue reading


2012 NCBWA Freshmen All-American Team Released

LYNCHBURG, VA. (NCBWA) – A total of 32 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country are featured on the 2012 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced today.

The 2012 NCBWA Freshman All-American Team features players from 19 conferences and eight conference championship teams. The two All-American squads are also made up of 14 conference “Rookie of the Year” winners. In addition, two conference “Pitcher of the Year” and 22 all-conference honorees were named to the team. Continue reading


Kallunki, Rhymes, Zunino Tabbed as Finalists for 2012 Dick Howser Trophy


DALLAS – Three first team All-Americans, including two standouts who have led their respective teams to this week’s NCAA Super Regionals, have been named as finalists for the 2012 Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. Balloting was conducted by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association in conjunction with the College Baseball Foundation, the Dick Howser Trophy committee and the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce. Continue reading


2012 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award Watch List

LUBBOCK, Texas — Five players from the Southeastern Conference are featured on the initial watch list for the 2012 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award.

The award, named for the Washington State star who achieved success as both a first baseman and a right-handed pitcher, will be presented as part of the annual College Baseball Night of Champions on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas. The event features the presentation of numerous awards and the induction ceremony for this year’s Hall of Fame class. Continue reading