Tag Archives: 2009 Coach of the Year

Virginia’s Brian O’Connor Named 2009 NCBWA Coach of the Year

Brian O'Connor (Courtesy Virginia Media Relations)
Brian O'Connor (Courtesy Virginia Media Relations)

HOUSTON, TX – After leading his team to the program’s first appearance at the NCAA College World Series, Virginia head coach Brian O’Connor was named the National Coach of the Year by the National College Baseball Writers Association.

The award, which was voted on by the NCBWA Board of Directors, was chosen from a list that included all Division I Conference Coaches of the Year and the coaches of the eight NCAA College World Series teams. O’Connor, who was the only coach to appear on every voter’s ballot, received the honor Saturday morning at the Omaha Press Club.
Continue reading