Northwoods League releases Top 200 Prospects

NorthwoodsLeagueThe Northwoods League today announced their top 200 prospects from the 2014 season. The list was compiled by Bradley Smart from Smart on Sports after discussions with all 18 Field Managers in the Northwoods League.

The first 100 prospects are listed along with a short summary of their 2014 season in the Northwoods League. The top 10 prospects from the 2014 season are as follows:

  1. Ryan Smoyer, rhp, Kalamazoo Growlers (Notre Dame)

  2. Pete Alonso, 1b, Madison Mallards (Florida)

  3. Andrew Elliot, rhp, Lakeshore Chinooks (Wright State)

  4. Matt Kent, lhp, Rochester Honkers (Texas A & M)

  5. Reese Gregory, rhp, St. Cloud Rox (St. Cloud State)

  6. Zach Jackson, rhp, Wisconsin Rapids Rafters (Arkansas)

  7. Paul DeJong, 3b, Wisconsin Woodchucks (Illinois State)

  8. Tyler Sullivan, of, Mankato MoonDogs (Pacific)

  9. Breckin Williams, rhp, La Crosse Loggers (Missouri)

  10. Rico Garcia, rhp, Kenosha Kingfish (Hawaii Pacific)

2014 Northwoods League Top 200

2014 Futures League End of Year Awards Announced

Futures Collegiate LeagueThe 2014 season was noteworthy in more ways than one; it showed more promise and growth then previous seasons. Records were broken and new ones were set. The talent level league wide continues to expand and change and the players signing with the Futures League continue to be better than ever. With 24 players being drafted by MLB teams and additional 4 signing after the draft, it’s no surprise that the parity in the league caused the closest playoff race the league has ever seen, since its creation in 2011. Without further ado, the reason for such parity and talent, the recipients of the 2014 FCBL End of Year Awards. Continue reading

University of The Incarnate Word releases 2015 Schedule

rp_primary_Raley,-Russell--1The University of The Incarnate Word has released their 2015 schedule which features a home opening series against the Northeastern Huskies. They will also host series against Southeastern Louisiana, Prairie View A&M, Houston Baptist, Stephen F. Austin, Central Arkansas, and Texas A&M Corpus Christi.  Continue reading

Fullerton’s Phil Bickford leaves program

Rick-Vanderhook-is-not-happy-with-the-umpires-decision.-Photo-Shotgun-SpratlingAccording to a release from Cal State Fullerton baseball, RHP Phill Bickford has decided to leave the Titans program to continue his baseball career elsewhere. Bickford went 6-3 with a 2.13 ERA in 20 appearances including ten starts with Fullerton in the 2014 season. He spent the summer in the Cape Cod League with the Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox where he made 14 appearances (1 start) with a 1-1 record and an ERA of 2.25 while serving as the closer accumulating eight saves. Continue reading

2014 West Coast League Season Award Winners

WestCoastLeague_thumb.gifKEIZER, OREGON – West Coast League President Dennis Koho announced the 2014 All-West Coast League teams and individual league awards as voted on by the league’s field managers. This year’s WCL Champions, the Bellingham Bells, placed three pitchers on the All-WCL first team and collected a number of honors including Pitcher of the Year, Coach of the Year, Executive of the Year, and the Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award. Bellingham beat WCL defending-champion Corvallis in the West Coast League Championship Series two games to one and posted the league’s top record at 37-17. Continue reading