College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2014 NCAA Baseball Regional Hosts Announced

NCAAINDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 68th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 25) are as follows:

Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (44-14-1)
Bloomington, Indiana – Indiana (42-13)
Charlottesville, Virginia – Virginia (44-13)
Coral Gables, Florida – Miami (Florida) (41-17)
Corvallis, Oregon – Oregon State (42-12)
Columbia, South Carolina – South Carolina (42-16)
Fort Worth, Texas – TCU (42-15)
Gainesville, Florida – Florida (40-21)
Houston, Texas – Rice (41-18)
Lafayette, Louisiana – Louisiana-Lafayette (53-7)
Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (45-15)
Nashville, Tennessee – Vanderbilt (41-18)
Oxford, Mississippi – Ole Miss (41-18)
San Luis Obispo, California – Cal Poly (45-10)
Stillwater, Oklahoma – Oklahoma State (45-16)
Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (43-15)

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field. Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 30 to Monday, June 2.

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 31, Miami (Florida) with 24 and LSU with 22. South Carolina is hosting for the 16th time, while Florida, Oklahoma St. and Rice are all hosting for the 11th time since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Virginia is hosting for the eighth time, while Ole Miss is hosting a regional for the sixth time. Oregon State is hosting for the fifth time with Louisville, TCU and Vanderbilt all hosting for the fourth time. Indiana and Louisiana-Lafayette, who last hosted in 2000, are hosting for the second time, while rounding out the list and hosting for the first time is Cal Poly. Eight institutions (Florida State, Indiana, LSU, Louisville, Oregon State, South Carolina, Vanderbilt and Virginia) also hosted in 2013.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at Noon (ET), Monday, May 26. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

There are 31 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 33 at-large selections. The 68th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 14, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.


Southeastern 5 (Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Vanderbilt)
Atlantic Coast 3 [Florida State, Miami (Florida), Virginia]
Big 12 2 (Oklahoma State and TCU)
Pacific-12 1 (Oregon State)
American Athletic 1 (Louisville)
Big Ten 1 (Indiana)
Big West 1 (Cal Poly)
Conference USA 1 (Rice)
Sun Belt 1 (Louisiana-Lafayette)

  • wetwop

    Houston not hosting is total BS!!! An RPI of 10 should merit one of the 16 regionals. If it does not, then the RPI should be abolished. There is no point in trying to add some type of objectivity to the selection process if it is to be ignored!

    • spazaru

      I totally agree. What’s the point of RPI if being WELL within the top 16 doesn’t get you a host. I’m a Houston native and was flying back in for a visit last week and saw UH’s field form the sky. Beautiful place! Too bad they got hosed.

    • Agree…they must had not wanted two in the same city with Rice hosting…No right at all.

  • Dugout

    It’s all about the money the schools bid to be a site.

  • Pingback: CWS Field of 64 announced; teams and analysis at Nationals Arm Race()

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme