College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

TCU releases 2012 Schedule

FORT WORTH, Texas – TCU baseball head coach Jim Schlossnagle announced the 2012 schedule Monday. The 54-game slate features a school-record 34 home contests and 23 tilts against teams that participated in the 2011 NCAA Tournament. The season gets under way Feb. 17 at home against Ole Miss.

The 2012 roster will feature a host of new faces as the team welcomed 17 newcomers this fall. In addition to the nation’s 10th-ranked recruiting class, the Horned Frogs return 13 letterwinners, including six starters in the field and one starter on the mound.

A busy February kicks off at home when the Frogs renew their rivalry with Ole Miss on opening weekend. The first game of 2012 is set for Feb. 17 against the Rebels at 6:30 p.m.

Following opening weekend, the Frogs will hit the road for four straight beginning at Baylor on Feb. 21 and continuing with a three-game series at Cal State Fullerton (Feb. 24-26). TCU wraps up the month with a home contest against Texas State on Feb. 28.

TCU opens March with seven straight games against future conference foes from the Big 12. The Frogs will play host to Oklahoma State (March 2-3), Baylor (March 6) and Texas Tech (March 9-11). A journey to San Antonio for a match-up against UTSA on March 13 kicks off a season-long nine-game road swing. Mountain West play begins on March 16 when the Frogs hit the road for a three-game series against UNLV.

The Frogs will complete the home-and-home with Texas State on March 20 and then head West again for a three-game series at New Mexico (March 23-25). The road trip concludes with a midweek contest at UT Arlington on March 27.

Frog fans will get their first taste of conference play beginning March 30 when UNLV heads to Texas for a three-game series. The weekend begins a stretch of 12 straight games at Lupton Stadium. Making the journey to Fort Worth during the homestand will be Dallas Baptist (April 3), UNC Wilmington (April 5-7), UT Arlington (April 11), Air Force (April 13-15) and Louisiana Monroe (April 17).

TCU will hit the road briefly for a three-game series at San Diego State (April 20-22) before heading back to Lupton for another eight-game homestand. The homestand commences with a meeting against College World Series participant Texas A&M on April 24. Manhattan comes to town for three games April 27-29. Oklahoma heads to Lupton Stadium May 1, while New Mexico will be in town for a three-game series May 4-6.

The Horned Frogs will take a week off for finals before heading to Colorado for a three-game series against Air Force May 11-13. TCU will wrap up its road schedule May 15 with a trip to Oklahoma. The final regular season series comes at Lupton Stadium against San Diego State May 18-20.

TCU will head to Albuquerque for the 2012 Mountain West Postseason Tournament. Four teams will qualify for the postseason tournament that begins May 24.

Full 2012 TCU Schedule (PDF)

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme