College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Kentucky’s Trevor Gott Named Cape Cod Reliever of the Year

LEXINGTON, Ky. — After posting a league-leading 13 saves in as many opportunities, Kentucky sophomore right-hander Trevor Gott has been honored as the 2011 Russell Ford Award recipient as the Cape Cod League reliever of the year, it was announced during a pregame presentation on Friday night.

Gott paced the talent-rich Cape Cod League with 13 saves – in 13 chances – posting a 1.23 ERA in 18 relief outings for Orleans. The Lexington, Ky., native tossed 22 innings during the summer, fanning 28, allowing only four walks and 14 hits. The 2010 Kentucky High School Gatorade Player of the Year out of Tates Creek, Gott earned the save in the CCBL All-Star Game on July 29, played at the Boston Red Sox’s Fenway Park, with UK teammate Taylor Rogers notching the win as the starting pitcher.

“We are extremely proud of Trevor and his terrific summer,” UK head coach Gary Henderson said. “He has really continued the development he showed during his first year in Lexington and has emerged as one of the top relievers in the nation. To be chosen as the top relief pitcher among such a talented group of college players speaks to what an outstanding summer Trevor has had in the Cape.”

As a true freshman for the Wildcats in 2010, Gott emerged as a potential standout reliever, tossing his first 11 career outings without allowing an earned run, posting a perfect 0.00 ERA in 17.1 innings, with 20 strikeouts. Through his first 17 career appearances, Gott posted a 2-3 record and a 0.38 ERA with one save, striking out 29 in 23.2 innings, allowing only one earned run. Overall on the year, Gott totaled a 2-4 record and a 3.62 ERA with two saves, striking out 34 in 27.1 innings. Without the lone two outings that saw Gott allow three or more runs, the righty posted a 1.38 ERA over 26 innings.

Gott is the second Kentucky player in school history to earn the Russell Ford Award for the top relief pitcher in the Cape Cod League, as Scott Smith was tabbed with the honor after tallying eight saves in 1992 for Chatham.

Each summer Ford, who was one of the major catalysts of the Cape Cod League, is honored by awarding the most outstanding relief pitcher of the season the recipient of the Russell Ford Award. Ford dedicated four decades of service to the CCBL as a former Cape Cod League president (1978-83) and anchor of the Orleans Cardinals franchise.

Russell Ford Reliever of the Year Award Winners (from 1991)

Year     Player                         Team               College                        W-L     SV        ERA    

2011    Trevor Gott                Orleans           Kentucky        0-0       13        1.23

2010    Tony Zych                    Bourne            Louisville         0-0       12        0.89

2009    Tyler Burgoon             Y-D                  Michigan         1-1       12        1.69

2008    Russell Brewer            Hyannis           Vanderbilt       1-0       12        2.74

2007    Nick Cassavechia        Y-D                  Baylor              1-1       11        1.07

2006    Joshua Fields               Y-D                  Georgia           0-1       13        2.55

2005    Steven Wright             Orleans           Hawaii                         3-0       12        0.63

2004    Kevin Whelan              Wareham        Texas A&M     2-2       11        0.42

2003    Jarrett Santos              Brewster         NC-Greensb.    2-1       11        1.42

2002    Zane Carlson               Chatham         Baylor              2-2       12        3.13

2001    Shaun Marcum           Harwich           SW Mizz. St.    4-1       10        1.48

Ryan Speier                 Bourne            Radford           0-0       16        0.00

2000    Taft Cable                   Orleans           NC-Greensb.    0-2       12        4.68

Dan Rich                      Brewster         Stanford          1-0       10        0.63

1999    Derrick DePriest         Chatham         UNC                 1-0       15        0.00

1998    Tim Lavigne                Bou/Cha          Virginia                       0-0         6        1.46

1997    Chris Aronson              Cotuit              Geo. Mason     0-1         9        3.15

1996    Drew Fischer               Brewster         Cal-Berkeley   1-0       13        1.40

Clint Chrysler              Wareham        Stetson            3-2       13        0.36

1995    Brendan Sullivan         Cotuit              Stanford          2-1         7        4.22

1994    Scott Winchester         Falmouth         Clemson          3-1       13        2.61

1993    Don Nestor                  Falmouth         South Florida  0-2       11        2.49

1992    Scott Smith                Chatham         Kentucky        3-0         8        0.70    

1991    Brad Clontz                 Wareham        Va. Tech          3-1       11        0.91

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme