College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2011 Florida Collegiate League All-Star Game Rosters Released

The Florida League announces the 2011 Florida League All-Star Game on Tuesday, July 12 at Historic Sanford Memorial Stadium. This past week, coaches and league officials voted on the players who they believe have shined the brightest through the first half of the summer. The ballots are in and the 2011 Florida League All-Stars have been selected.

Some of the notable selections for the two All-Star teams are Leesburg’s Thomas Sicking (Texas Pan-American) who leads the Florida League in hitting (.423 avg, 11 RBI), Winter Park’s Teddy Blackman (Coastal Carolina: .377 avg, .563 obp, 14 SB), the Florida League’s leader in wins, Jeremy Strawn (State College of Florida: 3-0, 2.02 ERA), and Nic Kovacs (Lake Sumter: 2-1, 13:1 strikeout to walk ratio).

The All-Stars will be divided into a North team and a South team. Coach David Therneau of Leesburg will head the All-Star North squad comprised of Sanford, DeLand, and Leesburg while Diamond Dawg head coach Kevin Davidsonwill lead the All-Star South team made up of Orlando, Winter Haven, and Winter Park.

Here are the starters and reserves for the 2011 Florida League All-Star Game:


Pos. Player Team School
P Austin Jackson Suns Florida Southern
C Mike Albaladejo Lightning Florida Atlantic
1B Kevin Lindheim Suns Stetson University
2B JT Warmoth Suns Embry-Riddle
SS Jacob Tillotson Lightning Florida
3B Thomas Sicking Lightning Texas Pan-American
LF Alex Mendez River Rats South Florida
CF Steven Bellantoni Suns USC- Aiken
RF *Brett Knief Suns Stetson University
Res- C Ryan Woodrey River Rats Nova Southeastern
Res- INF TJ Gavlik River Rats North Florida
Res- INF Aaron Silbar Suns Columbia
Res- OF Hunter Mayfield Lightning Rollins College
Res- OF Johnny Mazur River Rats Florida Tech
Res- 0F James Ramsay River Rats South Florida
Res- P Ethan Bader Lightning Lake Sumter CC
Res- P Max Rusch Lightning Flagler College
Res- P Dylan Hathcock Lightning UNC-Greensboro
Res- P Dylan Ortega Lightning Brevard CC
Res- P Chad Rood Suns Stetson University
Res- P Adam Albers River Rats St. Leo University
Res- P Taylor Smith River Rats Rollins College

* Player not available for game


Pos Player Team School
P Jeremy Strawn Diamond Dawgs State College of FL
C Austin Chubb Diamond Dawgs Florida Southern
1B BJ Zimmerman Diamond Dawgs State College of FL
2B Anthony Caronia Freedom University of Tampa
SS Dustin Demuth Diamond Dawgs Indiana University
3B Kevin Lehane Freedom Jacksonville
LF Michael Danner Diamond Dawgs Polk State College
CF Teddy Blackman Diamond Dawgs Coastal Carolina
RF Sam Halpern Loggerheads Barry University
Res- C Matt Mattone Freedom Palm Beach State
Res- INF Michael Heller Loggerheads Miami Dade
Res- INF Kevin Clements Loggerheads Trinity University
Res- OF Zach Houck Freedom Jacksonville
Res- OF Justin Burgess Loggerheads Montevallo
Res- P Chad Modomo Diamond Dawgs WV Wesleyan
Res- P Garrett Nuss Freedom UCF
Res- P Ben Brown Diamond Dawgs State College of FL
Res- P Peter Miller Loggerheads Florida State
Res- P Chris Waltermire Diamond Dawgs Polk State College
Res- P Brady Rodriguez Loggerheads Abilene Christian
Res- P Taylor Hammond Freedom Samford
Res- P Edward Brandsema Freedom Montevallo

The Homerun Derby contestants have also been determined for next week’s long ball contest.

Kevin Lindheim Suns Stetson University
Andre Colon Suns Lynn University
Mike Miller Lightning Dallas Baptist
Chase Durham Lightning Howard College
Matt Mattone Freedom Palm Beach State
Kevin Lehane Freedom Jacksonville
Ian MacGeorge River Rats Embry-Riddle
James Ramsay River Rats South Florida
Cody Slaughter Loggerheads Brown University
Sam Halpern Loggerheads Barry University
BJ Zimmerman Diamond Dawgs State College of FL
Brad Hutton Diamond Dawgs Ohio State

The gates at Historic Sanford Memorial Stadium will open at 4:30. Homerun Derby will start at 6 and the All Star game will follow shortly after at 7.

If you cannot make it out to Historic Sanford Memorial Stadium, you will still have a chance to enjoy the All-Star game. Aaron Vargas will call the game online at and Brighthouse Sports Network will televise the game as well. Brighthouse sports anchor David Baumann will have the call along with two former Major Leaguers. Former All-Star and St. Louis Cardinal outfielder Ray Lankford and former Colorado Rockies outfielder Dante Bichette will bring Major League insight into the booth along side Baumann.

The Florida League would like to invite kids above eight years old to come out and shag fly balls during the Homerun Derby. If you know of kids or youth teams that would like a chance to play the outfield and field fly balls hit by the top homerun hitters in the Florida League, please email Brandon Kline at or call him at 301-524-7187.

For more information on the All-Star festivities, complete stats, or any Florida League information please visit


College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme