College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2011 Semifinalists for Pitcher of the Year

Sixteen teams are looking toward the Super Regionals and among those teams are seven players on the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Pitcher of the Year Semifinalist List.

The winner of the Pitcher of the Year Award, presented by Diamond, will be announced in Lubbock, Texas, on July 3 as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.

“The importance of frontline pitching is certainly illustrated by seven pitchers on the list playing in the Super Regionals,” said Justin Knowles, Pitcher of the Year Award committee co-chair. “It will be fun to see these guys on the mound this weekend.”

Four pitchers from the ACC, including Danny Hultzen and Will Roberts of Virginia, made the semifinalist list. North Carolina’s Patrick Johnson and Florida State’s Sean Gilmartin are also among the semifinalists.

College Baseball’s Night of Champions not only features the presentation of the National Pitcher of the Year Award, but also the announcements of the Brooks Wallace Award, John Olerud Two-way Player of the Year, Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy. Also included is the 2011 induction of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame class.

Name / School / Conference
Danny Hultzen / Virginia / ACC
Grayson Garvin / Vanderbilt / SEC
Greg Gonzales / Fresno St / WAC
Patrick Johnson / North Carolina / ACC
Sam Gaviglio / Oregon St / Pac-10
Sean Gilmartin / Florida St / ACC
Taylor Jungmann / Texas / Big XII
Trevor Bauer / UCLA / Pac-10
Tyler Ray / Troy / Sun Belt
Will Roberts / Virgina / ACC

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme