College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2011 John Olerud Award Watch List

Ten players are still competing for the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award.

The winner of the Olerud Award will be announced in Lubbock, Texas, on July 3 as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.

“Our voters will have another very difficult job as they choose between the ten semifinalists,” said Randy Norman, Olerud Award committee co-chair. “The players on the list have some great statistics.”

Four of the Olerud Award semifinalists are playing for teams that advanced to the Super Regional round of the post-season, including Brian Hernandez of UC Irvine, Brian Johnson of Florida, Danny Hultzen of Virginia and Mike McGee of Florida State. McGee won the inaugural award in 2010.

College Baseball’s Night of Champions not only features the presentation of the John Olerud Two-way Player of the Year, but also the announcements of the Brooks Wallace Award, National Pitcher of the Year Award, Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy. Also included is the 2011 induction of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame class.

Player College Conference
Ben Koenigsfeld / Army / Patriot
Bo Reeder / East Tenn. State / Atlantic Sun
Brian Hernandez / UC Irvine / Big West
Brian Johnson / Florida / SEC
Cody Fick / Evansville / MVC
Danny Hultzen / Virginia / ACC
Mike McGee / Florida State / ACC
Nick Ramirez / Cal State Fullerton / Big West
Paul Snieder / Northwestern / Big 10
Zack Jones / San Jose State / WAC

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme