College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2011 Brooks Wallace Award Watch List down to 10

As teams look toward Super Regional play, the list of players in the running for the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award has been narrowed to 10.

The winner of the Brooks Wallace Award, presented by Mizuno, will be announced in Lubbock, Texas, on July 3 as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.

“This list of shortstops is outstanding,” said Kevin Dunagan, Wallace Award committee co-chair. “Three of them are still playing and several others led their teams to outstanding records and postseason play.”

Among those moving on to play in the Super Regionals this weekend are Nolan
The SEC and ACC each have two players on the semifinalist list. s Brad Miller and Georgia Tech’s Jacob Esch represent the ACC.

Joe Panik of St. Johns highlights those who were selected in the recent MLB Draft by being selected as the No. 29 overall pick by the World Champion San Francisco Giants. Miller was drafted as the No. 62 overall pick by the Seattle Mariners.

College Baseball’s Night of Champions not only features the presentation of the Brooks Wallace Award, but also the announcements of the National Pitcher of the Year, John Olerud Two-way Player of the Year, Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy. Also included is the 2011 induction of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame class.

Name / School / Conference
Adam Bryant / Troy / Sunbelt
Anthony Gomez / Vanderbilt / SEC
Brad Miller / Clemson / ACC
Brandon Loy / Texas / Big 12
David Herbek / James Madison / Colonial
Jacob Esch / Georgia Tech / ACC
Joe Panik / St Johns / Big East
Nolan Fontana / Florida / SEC
Sam Roberts / VMI / Big South
Sean Jamieson / Canisius / Metro-Atlantic

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme