College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Florida wins 2011 SEC Championship


Florida 5 Vanderbilt 0

Third-seeded Florida (45-16) captured its first SEC Tournament Championship since 1991 with a 5-0 shutout of fourth-seeded Vanderbilt (47-10) on Sunday afternoon in front of 7,845 fans at Regions Park. It was the sixth SEC Tourney crown for the Gators, which previously brought home the hardware in 1981, 1982, 1984, 1988 and 1991.

Making his first start of the campaign against a league opponent, junior Alex Panteliodis (Tampa, Fla.) (5-2) scattered five hits and registered five strikeouts over 5.1 scoreless innings to earn the win. The left-hander was followed to the mound by junior Greg Larson (Longwood, Fla.) (0.2 IP, 2 H), junior Nick Maronde (Lexington, Ky.) (2.0 IP, 1 K) and sophomore Austin Maddox (Jacksonville, Fla.) (1.0 IP, 2 H, 1 K) as Florida established a single-season school record with its 11th shutout. UF’s four victories at the event were its most since going 4-0 to win the 1991 SEC Tournament held in Baton Rouge, La.


Junior outfielder Daniel Pigott (Ormond Beach, Fla.), who went 2-for-3 with an RBI and a run scored this afternoon, was chosen as the Most Valuable Player of the SEC Tourney after batting .583 (7-for-12) over the four games he played, with six runs and six stolen bases. He joined Gator winners Rich Bombard (Pitcher, 1982), Brian Reimsnyder (Outfielder, 1988), Herbert Perry (Designated Hitter, 1991) and Brian Purvis(Outfielder, 1991). Other members of the All-Tourney Team from the Orange and Blue included sophomore shortstop Nolan Fontana (Winter Garden, Fla.), sophomore right-hander Hudson Randall (Atlanta, Ga.) and senior outfielder Bryson Smith (Watkinsville, Ga.).

Florida Recap
Vanderbilt Recap


College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme