College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2011 John Olerud Award Watch List

The College Baseball Hall of Fame announced today the names of 25 players from across the country featured on the watch list for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award.

The Olerud Award, which recognizes a player who makes an impact both on the mound and at the plate, will be presented in Lubbock, Texas, on July 3 as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.

“We’re very excited about the 2011 Olerud Award candidates,” said Cory Flores, Olerud Award committee co-chair. “Mike McGee set the bar very high last year.”

McGee, the inaugural Olerud Award winner, played in every game for Florida State in 2010 making 62 starts in left field while hitting .328 with 82 hits, 15 doubles, 17 home runs and 73 RBI. On the mound, McGee was the Seminole closer and posted a 4-1 record with 13 saves and a 2.96 ERA while leading his team to the College World Series.

Danny Hultzen of the 43-5 Virginia Cavaliers highlights this year’s list with a 9-1 record and a 1.19 ERA, with a .333 batting average.

McGee, who returned to Florida State for his senior season, and Hultzen are two of the four ACC players featured on the list – the most of any conference.

Florida, with Austin Maddox and Brian Johnson, is the only school with more than one player on the list.

“It’s amazing that the Gators have two players of this caliber,” said Randy Norman, Olerud Committee co-chair. “Maddox and Johnson are important reasons why they have been ranked all year.”

The Olerud Award will be presented on July 3 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.

Olerud Award Watch List
Danny Hultzen Virginia ACC
Mike McGee Florida State ACC
Will Lamb Clemson ACC
Marcus Stroman Duke ACC
Travis Parker St. Louis Univ. Atlantic 10
Bo Reeder East Tenn. State Atlantic Sun
DJ Johnson Mercer Atlantic Sun
Paul Snieder Northwestern Big 10
Josh Dezse Ohio State Big 10
Brooks Pinckard Baylor Big XII
David Paiz Texas Tech Big XII
Mike Genovese Seton Hall Big East
Sam Roberts VMI Big South
Nick Ramirez Cal State Fullerton Big West
Brian Hernandez UC Irvine Big West
Jason Ganek UIC Horizon
Martin Medina Cal State Bakersfield Independent
Chris Briere Longwood Independent
Cody Fick Evansville MVC
Ben Koenigsfeld Army Patriot
Brian Johnson Florida SEC
Austin Maddox Florida SEC
Jeff McVaney Texas State Southland
Casey Selsor UTSA Southland
Zack Jones San Jose State WAC


College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme