College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

UTSA releases 2011 Schedule

SAN ANTONIO — UTSA head baseball coach Sherman Corbett announced Monday his program’s 2011 schedule. The ledger is highlighted by six teams that participated in the 2010 NCAA Tournament, including two schools that have combined to win four of the last nine National Championships.

“I think our schedule is very competitive,” said Corbett, who begins his 11th season this spring. “We have some good challenges early that will prepare us for the conference season. The Southland Conference is a knockdown, drag-out battle. It’s a 33-game schedule that really challenges your club. It’s nice to see we start conference play at home and end it at home, too.”

Five of the six NCAA participants — Baylor, New Mexico, Oregon State, Texas and Texas A&M — recorded 30 or more wins a year ago, while Lamar reached the 64-team field after winning the Southland Tournament.

The season begins on Feb. 18 when the Roadrunners head to the Bayou State for a four-game series at Louisiana-Monroe.

Six consecutive tilts at Wolff Stadium, the home of the San Antonio Missions, follow and UTSA will play a total of nine contests at the facility.

The Roadrunners’ will welcome St. Joseph’s for a four-game set from Feb. 25-27. UTSA then will host 2006-07 National Champion Oregon State on Feb. 28 and the sixth game in five days comes the following evening when Houston arrives in the Alamo City. Notre Dame (March 15), Baylor (April 26) and Texas A&M (May 3) also will play at Wolff this spring.

The Birds head to New Mexico for a four-game weekend series from March 4-6 and UTSA opens Southland play the following weekend against Southeastern Louisiana (March 11-13) at Roadrunner Field.

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (April 1-3), Northwestern State (April 15-17), Lamar (April 21-23) and Central Arkansas (May 19-21) also will visit the Bird Bath in conference play this spring.

UTSA will travel to UT Arlington (March 18-20), Sam Houston State (March 25-27), Stephen F. Austin (April 8-10), Nicholls (April 29-May 1) and McNeese State (May 13-15).

The annual I-35 rivalry series will take place from May 6-8. The Bobcats will host the opener before the set shifts to San Antonio for the final two games.

The midweek schedule is filled with in-state teams, including a meeting at Texas on March 8. The Roadrunners also will travel to Baylor (March 29) and Houston (May 17). A neutral site doubleheader with Texas Tech will take place in San Angelo April 5 and the Birds will host St. Edward’s in the only non-conference game to take place at Roadrunner Field on April 12.

The Southland Tournament is slated for May 25-28 in San Marcos.

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme