College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Championship Plaza Dedicated at LSU’s Alex Box Stadium


ChampionshipPlazaLSUBATON ROUGE – The Gerry Lane Championship Plaza, which commemorates LSU’s six NCAA baseball titles, was officially dedicated Monday evening at Alex Box Stadium.

The plaza, located at the front entrance of the stadium, features plaques honoring the Tigers’ six national championship teams (1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2009) and LSU’s four members of the College Baseball Hall of Fame – legendary coach Skip Bertman, pitcher Ben McDonald, second baseman Todd Walker and first baseman Eddy Furniss.

LSU vice chancellor and director of athletics Joe Alleva joined Bertman and LSU coach Paul Mainieri in a ribbon-cutting ceremony with Gerry Lane, CEO of Gerry Lane Enterprises and benefactor of the project.

Also attending the ceremony were members of the Tigers’ championship teams, including Rick Greene (1991), Pat Garrity (1991), Ronnie Rantz (1991, 1993), Brad Wilson (1993, 1996), Jeramie Moore (1996), Eddie Yarnall (1996), Anthony Ranaudo (2009), DJ LeMahieu (2009) and Ben Alsup (2009).

“We are extremely grateful to Gerry Lane and the Lane family for their support not only of our baseball program but also of the entire Baton Rouge community,” Alleva said. “The Gerry Lane Championship Plaza is a beautiful representation of the tremendous history of LSU baseball. It’s a landmark that will be admired by Tiger fans for generations.”

The plaza is open to the public in front of Gate 2 of the stadium on Gourrier Lane.

Updated: October 20, 2010 — 1:25 am
College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme