College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Victoria Generals Win 2010 TCL Championship!


The Victoria Generals won the 2010 Texas Collegiate League Championship on Saturday night by beating the East Texas Pump Jacks 10-2 in Game 2 of the best-of-three championship series. The Generals won Game 1 on Friday night in Kilgore 6-5 before returning home for the win on their home field, Riverside Stadium in Victoria, to seal the championship on Saturday night.

General’s starting pitcher Sam Walker didn’t exactly get off to the start that he wanted to in Game 2, as the Generals found themselves down 1-0 after the first two batters of the game stepped to the plate for the Pump Jacks. TCL Player of the Year Lee Orr led off the game with a single, and then scored when TCL Freshman of the Year Zac Fisher doubled him home. But that would be all the scoring the Pump Jacks would get on the night off of Walker as he pitched six innings, scattering seven hits while striking out five to pick up the championship game win.

The Generals offense answered with a run in the bottom of the first to tie the game at 1-1. Brendan McGaheran led off with a walk and later scored on an RBI single by Mark Hudson.

The Generals then took the lead in the bottom of the second inning on a two-run homerun by catcher Abel Baker. Baker would finish the night going 2-for-3 with a walk, two RBI, three runs scored.

In the bottom of the third inning, the Generals added three more runs on an RBI double by Jeramie Marek and a two-run single by McGaheran to take a 6-1 lead. Marek finished the night going 3-for-4 with an RBI and two runs scored while McGaheran was 1-for-2 with two RBI, a run scored, two walks, and a stolen base.

The Generals blew the game open in the fifth inning when Hudson smacked a double into the left-centerfield gap with the bases loaded to drive in three runs. Hudson would later score on a wild pitch to make the score 10-1. Hudson finished the night 2-for-4 with four RBI, a run scored, and a walk. Hudson also was the hitting star in Game 1 of the series, going 4-for-5 that night with a double and two runs scored, bringing his championship series totals to 6-for-9 with a walk, two doubles, four RBI, and three runs scored.

Lee Orr added a solo homerun in the top of the seventh inning off of General’s relief pitcher Ryan Turner to round out the scoring for the night as the Generals won the game 10-2. Turner pitched two innings, allowing two hits while striking out two.

Tom Filip was on the mound for the Generals to pitch the ninth inning. Filip induced three groundball outs to shortstop Kenny Jackson to end the game and seal the 2010 TCL Championship.

The Generals won their first TCL Championship in only their second year of existence. The Generals were also in the championship series last summer in their inaugural season in the TCL, but lost to the Coppell Copperheads.

Victoria 10, East Texas 2 (Aug 14, 2010 at Victoria, TX)
East Texas………. 100 000 100 – 2 10 1 (2-3)
Victoria………… 123 040 00X – 10 12 1 (4-1)
Pitchers: East Texas – Martin Kyle; WALTER,JOHN(2); KOTTMAN,BRAD(4); ADAMS,CHASE(5);
METHVIN,GARRETT(7). Victoria – Walker.S; Turner.R(7); Filip.T(9).
Win-Walker.S(1-0) Loss-Martin Kyle(0-1) T-3:00 A-568
HR ET – Orr Lee.
HR VIC – Baker.A.
Game: AUG14

Video Highlights of the Game

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme