College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

TCL Announces 2010 Award Winners, All-TCL Team


TexasCollegiateLeagueLogo The race for the league’s best record came down to the final night of the season, with the Victoria Generals edging the East Texas Pump Jacks by virtue of head-to-head record.

It should come as little surprise, then, that the same two teams finished among the leaders in year-end awards.

The Texas Collegiate League announced the winners of its four major awards for the 2010 season, as well as the 2010 All-TCL team. The awards were selected by a poll of the league’s own coaches.

Headlining the winners are a pair of repeat performers. Victoria head coach Chris Clemons was named TCL Coach of the Year for the second straight season, a just reward for back-to-back regular season titles. Generals outfielder Mark Hudson, the 2009 TCL Player of the Year, was again named to the All-TCL team.

Clemons guided the Generals to a 30-16 overall record and the division title in the first half of the season. Last year, Victoria was a league-best 30-14, even more remarkable because Clemons built the Generals from scratch as an expansion franchise.

Succeeding Hudson as the TCL Player of the Year is East Texas outfielder Lee Orr. The McNeese State sophomore led the TCL in runs scored (38), finished second in the league in both home runs (five) and stolen bases (24), and ranked among the leaders in doubles and slugging percentage.

The TCL Pitcher of the Year is Victoria’s Joseph Dvorsky, who also authored the most dominating pitching performance in league history. Facing the defending champion North Texas Copperheads on July 18, Dvorsky tossed the third no-hitter in the TCL, and the first-ever nine inning no-no. The junior righty out of Texas State struck out 18 hitters and walked none. In fact, were it not for a fielding error, Dvorsky’s masterpiece would have been the first perfect game ever in the TCL.

On the season, Dvorsky was a perfect 7-0 with a 2.66 ERA and 47 strikeouts in 47.1 innings.

Rounding out the major awards is East Texas catcher Zac Fisher, who becomes the second straight Pump Jack to be named the TCL Freshman of the Year. Last year, Matt Juengel was the TCL’s top rookie.

Like Dvorsky, Fisher wrote himself into the record books in 2010, breaking the league record for doubles in a season with 17. The Freshman All-American out of New Mexico State also topped the circuit with 34 RBI, and he was among the leaders in home runs, hits, runs and slugging percentage.

Fisher was also tabbed as the TCL’s top catcher, anchoring an All-TCL infield that saw four different franchises represented. Wes Patterson from the Brazos Valley Bombers was named at first base, Victoria’s Conner Mach at second, and Troy White from the expansion Texas Tomcats at third.

The Tomcats’ Brock Hebert and Isaac Nuti from Brazos Valley share the All-TCL award at shortstop.

Joining Orr and Hudson in the outfield is McKinney slugger Bryson Miles, the TCL leader in home runs this summer. Outfielder Matt Carvutto from the Pump Jacks was selected as the designated hitter.

Dvorsky was also tabbed as the All-TCL right-hander, and he was joined on the hill by a pair of Pump Jacks. Freshman Brad Kottman was named the All-TCL left-hander, while teammate Dusty Ross, who shattered the league saves record, was selected as the league’s top reliever.

All award winners are listed below.

The TCL playoffs get underway tonight, with the Tomcats hosting Victoria and East Texas visiting the Bombers. The top two seeds, the Pump Jacks and Generals, will host Game Two and, if necessary, Game Three.

First round winners will meet in the TCL Championship Series beginning Friday, August 13.

2010 TCL Award Winners

Player of the Year: Lee Orr, East Texas
Pitcher of the Year: Joseph Dvorsky, Victoria
Freshman of the Year: Zac Fisher, East Texas
Coach of the Year: Chris Clemons, Victoria

All-TCL Team
Catcher: Zac Fisher, East Texas
First Base: Wes Patterson, Brazos Valley
Second Base: Conner Mach, Victoria
Third Base: Troy White, Texas
Shortstop: Brock Hebert, Texas & Isaac Nuti, Brazos Valley (tie)
Outfield: Mark Hudson, Victoria
Outfield: Bryson Miles, McKinney
Outfield: Lee Orr, East Texas
Designated Hitter: Matt Carvutto, East Texas
Right-Handed Pitcher: Joseph Dvorsky, Victoria
Left-Handed Pitcher: Brad Kottman, East Texas
Relief Pitcher: Dusty Ross, East Texas

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme