College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Johnny Bench Award Finalists Announced


JohnnyBench The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced today the three finalists for the 2010 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by Papa John’s Pizza.

The Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award finalists are (in alphabetical order):
Yasmani Grandal, University of Miami;
Bryan Holaday, Texas Christian University and
Jose Iglesias, Coastal Carolina University.


A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 13th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on July 1, 2010.

Bench’s career honors include: National League Rookie of the Year (1968); National League Most Valuable Player (1970, 1972); World Series Most Valuable Player (1976); 14-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove winner. In 1980, he set an endurance record by catching 100+ games for 13 consecutive seasons. Bench was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in January 1989 with the fourth highest percentage of total votes cast.

Previous winners were:     
2009   J.T. Wise, University of Oklahoma
2008   Buster Posey, Florida State University
2007   Edward Easley, Mississippi State University
2006   Jake Smith, East Carolina University
2005   Jeff Clement, University of Southern California
2004   Kurt Suzuki, Cal State  – Fullerton
2003   Ryan Garko, Stanford University
2002   Jeremy Brown, University of Alabama  
2001   Kelly Shoppach, Baylor University
2000   Brad Cresse, Louisiana State University

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme