College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2010 All-WAC Teams Announced


MESA, Ariz. – The Western Athletic Conference today released its 2010 all-WAC baseball teams and postseason awards as selected by the league’s head coaches.  Fresno State junior first baseman Jordan Ribera was named the Player of the Year and Nevada junior Brock Stassi earned Pitcher of the Year honors. The Freshman of the Year award went to San Jose State pitcher Zack Jones.  Fresno State’s Mike Batesole was named WAC Coach of the Year.

Ribera, a junior from Fresno, Calif. (Clovis West HS), batted .323 in conference play and currently leads the nation in home runs with 26. Ribera also earned First Team all-WAC honors. 

Stassi, a junior from Yuba City, Calif. (Yuba City HS), earned the WAC’s Pitcher of the Year award. Stassi made five starts during conference play, registering a 3.58 ERA. He recorded a 3-1 record in five conference games with a pair of complete games and one shutout. 

Jones, a native of San Jose, Calif. (Santa Teresa HS), made nine appearances during WAC play, recording a 2-1 record with a 4.57 ERA. He also tallied two saves and 18 strikeouts while limiting opponents to a .224 batting average.

Batesole, in his eighth campaign in charge of the Bulldogs, was honored as the WAC Coach of the Year for the second time in his career. He also received the honor in 2008. Batesole has led Fresno State to a 35-23 overall win-loss record thus far in 2010.

Player of the Year: Jordan Ribera, Jr., Fresno State
Pitcher of the Year: Brock Stassi, Jr., Nevada
Freshman of the Year: Zack Jones, San Jose State
Coach of the Year: Mike Batesole, Fresno State

Bobby Coyle, DH, Jr., Fresno State
Greg Gonzalez, SP, Jr., Fresno State
Jordan Ribera, 1B, Jr., Fresno State
Dusty Robinson, OF, So., Fresno State
Greg Garcia, SS, Jr., Hawai‘i
Lenny Linsky, RP, So., Hawai‘i
Jeffrey Van Doornum, DH, Jr., Hawai‘i
Kolten Wong, 2B, So., Hawai‘i
Devon Dageford, OF, Sr., Louisiana Tech
Mark Threlkeld, 3B, So., Louisiana Tech
Shaun Kort, 1B, Sr., Nevada
Brock Stassi, SP, Jr., Nevada
Leo Aguirre, 1B, Sr., New Mexico State
Blake McFarland, SP, Jr., San Jose State
Corey Valine, 3B/UTI, Sr., San Jose State


Danny Muno, 2B, Jr., Fresno State
Josh Poytress, SP, So., Fresno State
Garrett Weber, SS, Jr., Fresno State
Josh Slaats, SP, Jr., Hawai‘i
Clint Ewing, C, Jr., Louisiana Tech
Joey Ford, 2B, Jr., Louisiana Tech
Alex Williams, DH, So., Louisiana Tech
Brian Barnett, OF, Jr., Nevada
Jeremy Cole, SP, Jr., Nevada
Tyler Graham, RP, Sr., Nevada
Nick Melino, OF, So., Nevada
Brock Stassi, UTI, Jr., Nevada
Ryan Aguayo, SS, Jr., New Mexico State
Trevor Paine, DH, Jr., Sacramento State
Josh Powers, 1B, Sr., Sacramento State

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme