College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Miami’s Grandal, Virginia’s Hultzen Lead 2010 All-ACC Baseball Team


DannyHultzenUVA GREESNBORO, N.C. – Miami junior catcher Yasmani Grandal has been named the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Player of the Year in a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches, while Virginia sophomore Danny Hultzen has received the nod as Pitcher of the Year.

The two standouts headline the 2010 All-ACC Baseball Team announced today by commissioner John D. Swofford. Duke pitcher/infielder Marcus Stroman was voted the Freshman of the Year, while Virginia’s Brian O’Connor received Coach of the Year honors.

Miami’s Grandal leads the ACC in batting with a .428 average, along with 13 home runs and 54 RBIs. In conference games only, Grandal is hitting an even more torrid .463 with an .833 slugging percentage. Thirty-five of his 80 hits have gone for extra bases. Recently named a semifinalist for the Johnny Bench Award that goes to the nation’s top catcher, Grandal was the catalyst as the Hurricanes posted a 38-15 overall record and remained ranked among the nation’s top 15 teams throughout the regular season.

Hultzen, the ACC Freshman of the Year in 2009, currently owns an 8-1 record to go with an ACC-low 2.08 ERA. The Bethesda, Md., native has struck out a conference-high 106 batters in 86.2 innings while limiting opposing hitters to a collective .179 average – another ACC low. Hultzen is among the contenders for several national awards, including the Dick Howser Trophy.

A two-way performer for Duke, Stroman posted a 6-4 record on the mound with a team-high 64 strikeouts in 57.2 innings. In 49 games a position player, the Medford, N.Y., freshman hit .265 with a pair of homers, 20 RBIs and 11 stolen bases in 14 attempts.

Virginia’s O’Connor received his second conference Coach of the Year Award and first since 2004 after leading the nationally top-ranked Cavaliers to a 45-10 overall regular-season record, a Coastal Division title (with a 23-7 ACC mark) and the top seeding for this week’s ACC Championship at Greensboro’s NewBridge Bank Park. Virginia’s 45 wins tie for third-best in school history and stand just four victories shy of the record 49 posted by last season’s College World Series team.

O’Connor’s Cavaliers placed a league-high seven players on the 32-member All-ACC first- and second teams, including three first-team selections. Georgia Tech followed with six selections, including an ACC-high four first-teamers. Five Miami players were chosen via the coaches’ balloting.


Name Cl. Position School

Yasmani Grandal Jr. Catcher Miami **

Mickey Wiswall Jr. First Base Boston College **

Tony Plagman Sr. First Base Georgia Tech **

Dallas Poulk Sr. Second Base NC State

Matt Skole So. Third Base Georgia Tech

Derek Dietrich Jr. Shortstop Georgia Tech ***

Kyle Parker Jr. Outfield Clemson **

Tyler Holt Jr. Outfield Florida State **

Phil Gosselin Jr. Outfield Virginia **

Austin Wates Jr. Outfield Virginia Tech

Deck McGuire Jr. Starting Pitcher Georgia Tech **

Chris Hernandez Jr. Starting Pitcher Miami ***

Matt Harvey Jr. Starting Pitcher North Carolina

Danny Hultzen So. Starting Pitcher Virginia **

Kevin Arico Jr. Relief Pitcher Virginia

Mike McGee Jr. Utility/DH Florida State **


Name Cl. Position School

Steve Domecus Sr. Catcher Virginia Tech **

Scott Lawson Sr. First Base Miami **

Mike Freeman Sr. Second Base Clemson

Keith Werman So. Second Base Virginia

Harold Martinez So. Third Base Miami

Tyler Cannon Sr. Shortstop Virginia **

Jeff Schaus Jr. Outfield Clemson **

Drew Poulk Sr. Outfield NC State

Kyle Wilson Sr. Outfield NC State

Jarrett Parker Jr. Outfield Virginia **

Jed Bradley So. Starting Pitcher Georgia Tech

Robert Morey Jr. Starting Pitcher Virginia

Justin Wright Jr. Starting Pitcher Virginia Tech

Daniel Miranda So. Relief Pitcher Miami

Ben Rowen Sr. Relief Pitcher Virginia Tech

Thomas Nichols Jr. Utility/DH Georgia Tech

Player of the Year – Yasmani Grandal, Miami

Pitcher of the Year – Danny Hultzen, Virginia

Freshman of the Year – Marcus Stroman, Duke

Coach of the Year – Brian O’Connor, Virginia

** – Two-time first- or second-team selection
*** – Three time first- or second-team selection

  • Chad W

    Impressive run for Hultzen.

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme