College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round Pairings Announced

NAIA Baseball National ChampionshipThe NAIA Baseball National Championship tournament starts with nine tournaments with five teams in each tournament field. This “Opening Round” will be played May 18-21. The nine winners, plus host team Lewis-Clark State, qualify for the NAIA Baseball National Championship in Lewiston, ID May 28-June 4.

The nine locations, the number #1 seeds, and the hosts (if different from the #1 seed), are:

  • Silver Cross Field, Joliet, IL – Cumberland – Saint Francis
  • Totman Stadium, Riverside, CA – Cal Baptist
  • Olympic Field, Cleveland, TN – Lee
  • Hays Field, Lubbock, TX – Lubbock Christian
  • Jim Wade Stadium, Oklahoma City, OK – Oklahoma City
  • FPU Diamond, Fresno, CA – British Columbia – Fresno Pacific
  • Sliwa Stadium, Daytona Beach, FL – Embry-Riddle
  • Golden Park, Columbus, GA – LSU-Shreveport – Columbus Sports Council
  • Smith-Wills Stadium, Jackson, MS – Missouri Baptist – Belhaven

Complete fields for the Opening Round tournaments:

Round ID
Round Host
Group #1 Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference, City of Joliet, Ill., and University of Saint Francis (Ill.) – located in Joliet, Ill., at Silver Cross Field No. 1 Cumberland (Tenn.)
No. 2 Campbellsville (Ky.)
No. 3 St. Francis (Ill.)
No. 4 Robert Morris (Ill.)
No. 5 Mayville State (N.D.)
Group #2 California Baptist University – located in Riverside, Calif., at Totman Stadium No. 1 California Baptist
No. 2 Madonna (Mich.)
No. 3 College of Idaho
No. 4 Vanguard (Calif.)
No. 5 Huntington (Ind.)
Group #3 Lee University – located in Cleveland, Tenn., at Olympic Field (website) No. 1 Lee (Tenn.)
No. 2 South Carolina-Beaufort
No. 3 Taylor (Ind.)
No. 4 William Jewell (Mo.)
No. 5 Mount Vernon Nazarene (Calif.)
Group #4 Lubbock Christian University – located in Lubbock, Texas, at Hays Field No. 1 Lubbock Christian (Texas)
No. 2 York (Neb.)
No. 3 Avila (Mo.)
No. 4 Mount Marty (S.D.)
No. 5 Texas at Brownsville
Group #5 Oklahoma City University – located in Oklahoma City, Okla., at Jim Wade Stadium (website) No. 1 Oklahoma City
No. 2 Union (Tenn.)
No. 3 Jamestown (N.D.)
No. 4 Grand View (Iowa)
No. 5 Northwestern (Iowa)
Group #6 Fresno Pacific University – located in Fresno, Calif., at FPU Diamond No. 1 British Columbia
No. 2 Fresno Pacific (Calif.)
No. 3 Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
No. 4 Houston-Victoria (Texas)
No. 5 Ohio Dominican
Group #7 Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – located in Daytona Beach, Fla., at Embry-Riddle Sliwa Stadium No. 1 Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
No. 2 Faulkner (Ala.)
No. 3 Rio Grande (Ohio)
No. 4 Union (Ky.)
No. 5 St. Thomas (Fla.)
Group #8 Columbus Sports Council – located in Columbus, Ga., at Golden Park No. 1 LSU-Shreveport
No. 2 Southern Poly State (Ga.)
No. 3 Tennessee Wesleyan
No. 4 Indiana Southeast
No. 5 Indiana Tech
Group #9 Belhaven University – located in Jackson, Miss., at Smith-Wills Stadium (website) No. 1 Missouri Baptist
No. 2 Belhaven (Miss.)
No. 3 Brewton-Parker (Ga.)
No. 4 Texas Wesleyan
No. 5 Kansas Wesleyan
Updated: May 14, 2010 — 9:43 pm
  • What is this? NAIA coverage? WHOA.

  • HuskerCoug

    Bob, do have any details on the situation for the Bellevue Bruins? My understanding is that they had to forfeit nearly the entire season but don’t really know much else.

  • HuskerCoug, all you had to do was search this site for “Bellevue”, and you would have come up with this:

    The only thing I can add is that Jon Reed was apparently on his way to flunking out of Sam Houston State, but this isn’t especially relevant: his coach at Sam Houston State said that he would have had no problem with signing the release, had he been asked to do so.

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme