College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

John Olerud Award Watch List



LUBBOCK, Texas — The College Baseball Foundation announced today the names of 25 players from across the country featured on the watch list for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award.

The Olerud Award, which recognizes a player who makes an impact both on the mound and at the plate, will be presented in Lubbock, Texas, on July 2 as part of the College Baseball Awards Show.

“We’re very excited to present the inaugural Olerud Award this year,” said Randy Norman, Olerud Award committee co-chair. “John Olerud was a great two-way player at Washington State and we look forward to honoring a player who will carry on that legacy.”

Danny Hultzen of the University of Virginia also is on the CBF’s Pitcher of the Year Award watch list. Sam Roberts from Virginia Military Institute also appears on the CBF’s Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award watch list.

Joe Leonard, a third baseman and pitcher at Pittsburgh, has a .455 batting average in a 176 at-bats. He also has 56 RBIs, seven home runs and 19 doubles, along with a 3.60 ERA and six saves.

Mike McGee of Florida State has the lowest ERA on the watch list (0.53 in 17.0 innings pitched). The right-handed outfielder also has a .327 batting average with nine home runs and 41 RBIs.

The SEC leads all conferences in representation on the watch list with four players. Three players from Ohio Valley Conference schools made the list.
Cal State Fullerton features two players on the watch list – Tyler Pill and Nick Ramirez.

“A lot of schools don’t even have one two-way player,” Norman said. “For one school to have two players on this list is pretty impressive.”

The College Baseball Awards Show will take place on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of a nearly weeklong schedule of festivities sponsored by the College Baseball Foundation. The events also include the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Name School Conference
Jake Smith Alabama SEC
Brett Eibner Arkansas SEC
Ben Koenigsfeld Army Patriot
Kolbrin Vitek Ball State MAC
Brooks Pinckard Baylor Big 12
Tyler Pill Cal State Fullerton Big West
Nick Ramirez Cal State Fullerton Big West
Josh Conway Coastal Carolina Big South
Andrew Heck Duquesne Atlantic 10
Bo Reeder East Tennessee State Atlantic Sun
Tom Heithoff Evansville Missouri Valley
Mike McGee Florida State ACC
Brian Johnson Florida SEC
Jerrud Sabourin Indiana Big 10
Braden Kapteyn Kentucky SEC
Justin Robichaux Louisiana Lafayette Sun Belt
Justin Guidry Middle Tennessee State Sun Belt
Michael Bottoms Morehead State OVC
David Mills Notre Dame Big East
Joe Leonard Pittsburgh Big East
Billy Barber Richmond Atlantic 10
Michael Adamson Southeast Missouri OVC
Chad Oberacker Tennessee Tech OVC
Danny Hultzen Virginia ACC
Sam Roberts Virginia Military Big South

  • Marc F

    As a Wazzu grad and having watched John Olerud while he played at WSU, I am excited about this award. Ole was absolutely dominant. I think he was a better pitcher than a hitter if you can believe that!!!

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme