College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2010 CBF Pitcher of the Year Watch List

CBFPitchingoftheYear LUBBOCK, Texas — As starting pitchers across the country continue to impact the success of their teams, the College Baseball Foundation has released the first Pitcher of the Year Watch List for 2010.

The Pitcher of the Year Award will be presented in Lubbock, Texas,on July 2 as part of the College Baseball Awards Show.


“This watch list is full of great pitchers from across the country,” said Landon Holly, who together with Justin Knowles serve as a co-chairs for the Pitcher of the Year committee. “We worked closely with the College Baseball Blog to make sure we could create a list that was as comprehensive as possible. There are some truly impressive pitchers on this list.”

All of the major conferences across the country have multiple representatives on the list, with the Pac 10 leading with nine. Many of the smaller conferences also have representation on the list.

This the second year the CBF will present the Pitcher of the Year Award and one finalist from 2009 appears on the watch list for 2010. Deck McGuire of Georgia Tech has a .87 ERA in 31.0 innings. He has recorded 33 strikeouts and given up only five walks this season.

Addison Reed, who won the 2009 Stopper of the Year Award presented by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America, makes the Pitcher of the Year Watch List with 21 strikeouts, nine walks and a 2.36 ERA in 26.2 innings.

Eric Johnson from the University of California brings a 0.0 ERA to the watch list. Johnson has recorded 20 strikeouts and four walks in 19.0 innings pitched.
The College Baseball Awards Show is part of a nearly weeklong schedule of festivities sponsored by the College Baseball Foundation. The events also include the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Player School Conference
Jimmy Nelson Alabama SEC
Jake Borup Arizona State PAC-10
Mitchell Lambson Arizona State PAC-10
Josh Spence Arizona State PAC-10
Drew Smyly Arkansas SEC
Logan Verrett Baylor Big 12
Eric Johnson California PAC-10
Asher Wojciechowski Citadel Southern
Matt Rein Coastal Carolina Big South
Cody Wheeler Coastal Carolina Big South
Alex Panteliodis Florida SEC
John Gast Florida State ACC
Sean Gilmartin Florida State ACC
Deck McGuire Georgia Tech ACC
Drew Leininger Indiana Big 10
Matt Little Kentucky SEC
Shawn Teufel Liberty Big South
Anthony Ranaudo Louisiana State SEC
Neil Holland Louisville Big East
Thomas Royse Louisville Big East
Matt Harvey North Carolina ACC
Francis Brooke Northwestern Big 10
Alex Wimmers Ohio State Big 10
Jeremy Erben Oklahoma Big 12
Aaron Barrett Mississippi SEC
Drew Pomeranz Mississippi SEC
Tyler Anderson Oregon PAC-10
Greg Peavey Oregon State PAC-10
Tanner Robles Oregon State PAC-10
Addison Reed San Diego State Mountain West
D.D. Hanks South Alabama Sun Belt
Trever Vermeulen South Dakota State Summit
Josh Janway Southeastern Louisiana Southland
Scott Copeland Southern Mississippi Conference USA
Todd McInnis Southern Mississippi Conference USA
Cole Green Texas Big 12
Taylor Jungmann Texas Big 12
Chance Ruffin Texas Big 12
Barret Loux Texas A&M Big 12
John Stilson Texas A&M Big 12
Daniel Bibona UC Irvine Big West
Eric Pettis UC Irvine Big West
Mario Hollands UC Santa Barbara Big West
Trevor Bauer UCLA PAC-10
Gerrit Cole UCLA PAC-10
Jason Mitchell UT Arlington Southland
Sonny Gray Vanderbilt SEC
Danny Hultzen Virginia ACC
Jesse Hahn Virginia Tech ACC

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme