College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

2010 Brooks Wallace Award Watch List

LUBBOCK, Texas — After a month of exciting college baseball action across the country, the College Baseball Foundation has released the initial Brooks Wallace Award Watch List.

The Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation’s top shortstop and will be presented on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Awards Show.


Wallace Award committee co-chairs Kevin Dunagan and Tyler Young worked closely with the staff at the College Baseball Blog to ensure the best Division I shortstops were included.

“There are players on the list with some very impressive statistics,” Dunagan said. “The College Baseball Blog was very helpful in making sure that we found the outstanding candidates regardless of school or conference.”

The ACC and SEC lead all conferences with five players each on the watch list. The Atlantic Sun Conference features four players on the list.

Two players who were finalists for the 2009 Wallace Award return to the initial 2010 list.

Christian Colon of Cal State Fullerton is hitting .268 in 56 at-bats. He also has a .955 fielding percentage.

Jedd Gyorko of West Virginia is hitting .375 in 56 at-bats with six doubles and four home runs.

Leading the list in RBIs is Sam Roberts of the Virginia Military Institute. He has recorded 29 RBIs on the season, along with a .400 batting average and a .981 fielding percentage.

Ryan Soares of George Mason leads the list in batting average, hitting .500 in 34 at-bats.

“This is already an outstanding list of players, but it’s certainly not finished,” Young said. “It will be exciting to see how this list changes as players continue to improve and make an impact on this season.”

The College Baseball Awards Show is part of a nearly weeklong schedule of festivities sponsored by the College Baseball Foundation. The events also include the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.


Name School Conference
Josh Rutledge Alabama SEC
Drew Maggi Arizona State Pac 10
Tim Carver Arkansas SEC
Clint Moore Army Patriot
Casey McElroy Auburn SEC
Raynor Campbell Baylor Big 12
Christian Colon Cal State Fullerton Big West
Marcus Semien California Pac 10
Nick Ahmed Connecticut Big East
Travis Meiners Dallas Baptist Independent
Richie Rodriguez Eastern Kentucky Ohio Valley
Neal Pritchard Elon Southern
Nick DelGuidice Florida Atlantic Sun Belt
Stephen Wickens Florida Gulf Coast Atlantic Sun
Stephen Cardullo Florida State ACC
Ryan Soares George Mason Colonial
Carl Moniz Georgia State Colonial
Derek Dietrich Georgia Tech ACC
Ryan Strausborger Indiana State MVC
Jamaal Hawkins Jacksonville Atlantic Sun
Carter Jurica Kansas State Big 12
Adam Duvall Louisville Big East
Austin Nola LSU SEC
Richard Curylo Marist MAAC
Evan Boyd Mercer Atlantic Sun
Jonathan Roof Michigan State Big 10
AJ Pettersen Minnesota Big 10
Drew Lee Morehead State Ohio Valley
Ryan Aguayo New Mexico State WAC
Ryan Graepel North Carolina ACC
Andrew Hannon North Florida Atlantic Sun
Tyler Saladino Oral Roberts Summit League
Danny Pulfer Oregon Pac 10
Ben Gorang Pacific Big West
Danny Lopez Pittsburgh Big East
Rick Hague Rice Conference USA
Justin Viele Santa Clara WCC
Dexter Kelley Savannah State MEAC
Scott Wingo South Carolina SEC
Justin Boudreaux Southeastern Louisiana Southland
BA Vollmuth Southern Miss Conference USA
Jerome Pena TCU Mountain West
Kenny Jackson Texas A&M Big 12
Ray Hernandez Texas Southern SWAC
Adam Bryant Troy Sun Belt
Garrett Cannizaro Tulane Conference USA
Matt Valaika UC Santa Barbara Big West
Tyler Cannon Virginia ACC
Sam Roberts Virginia Military Big South
Tim Smalling Virginia Tech ACC
Jedd Gyorko West Virginia Big East
Ryan McMillin Western Michigan MAC
Tyler Grimes Wichita State MVC
Matt Pierpont Winthrop Big South

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme