College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Mountain West Conference Preseason Poll and Team


TaylorFeatherstone Coming off the most successful season in school history, TCU has once again been picked to win the regular season Mountain West Conference. Kyle Winkler and Taylor Featherston were selected to the preseason all-conference team.

Four-time defending Mountain West Conference champion TCU is the unanimous favorite to win its fifth consecutive regular season MWC baseball title in 2010 according to a vote of the seven MWC head coaches and a selected media panel. The Horned Frogs received all 10 first-place votes and 70 points overall, while New Mexico garnered 55 points to finish second in the poll. San Diego State collected 47 points for a third-place ranking in the poll, while defending MWC Tournament champion Utah was fourth (45 points). Rounding out the poll were BYU in fifth (28 points), UNLV in sixth (22 points) and Air Force in seventh (13 points).

TCU returns five starters from a 2009 squad that captured the NCAA Fort Worth Regional championship and advanced to the program’s first NCAA Super Regional. All-Conference members Bryan Holaday (Sr./C), Taylor Featherston (So./SS) and Trent Appleby (Sr./RHP) anchor the Frogs’ roster. TCU posted a 15-5 record in Conference play before finishing the season with a 40-18 overall record and No. 14 ranking in the final 2009 Baseball America poll.

New Mexico returns five starters in 2010, led by Preseason All-American Rafael Neda (Jr./C), a two-time all-MWC honoree, and Max Willett (Sr./OF), a 2009 all-MWC selection. The Lobos were 37-20 overall last season, posting a second-place finish in the MWC standings with a 15-8 mark.

San Diego State returns seven starters this season, led by 2009 NCBWA Stopper of the Year and consensus All-American Addison Reed (Jr./RHP), along with fellow all-MWC honorees Brandon Meredith (So./1B) and Cory Vaughn (Jr./OF). The Aztecs posted a fourth-place Conference finish (15-9) en route to a 41-23 overall mark and NCAA Regional appearance.

The 2010 regular season opens Friday, February 19, with all seven MWC teams in action. The conference season begins Thursday, March 18 with TCU hosting BYU. The 2010 Conoco Mountain West Conference Baseball Championship is scheduled for May 25-29 at Tony Gwynn Stadium in San Diego, Calif.

Rk. Team (1st place votes) Points
1. TCU (10) 70
2. New Mexico 55
3. San Diego State 47
4. Utah 45
5. BYU 28
6. UNLV 22
7. Air Force 13

(selected by MWC head coaches)
Pos. Name, Class Institution
C Rafael Neda, Jr. New Mexico
1B Addison Gentry, Sr. Air Force
2B Mitch Blackburn, Sr. San Diego State
3B Nick Kuroczko, Sr. Utah
SS Taylor Featherston, So. TCU
OF Ryan Honeycutt, Jr. New Mexico
OF Max Willett, Sr. New Mexico
OF Cory Vaughn, Jr. San Diego State
OF Rance Roundy, Sr. UNLV
P Addison Reed, Jr. San Diego State
P Kyle Winkler, So. TCU
UT/DH Matt Alexander, Sr. Air Force

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme