College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Baylor Bears announces 2010 Schedule


JoeyHainsfurtherBaylor WACO, Texas — Baylor baseball head coach Steve Smith unveiled his program’s 2010 schedule Tuesday. The Bears play 35 home games, including an 18-game home stand to open the season. Baylor’s 52-game schedule features 35 games against 13 teams that participated in the 2009 NCAA Tournament.

The 2010 season opens Feb. 19-21 when the Bears host Duke and Georgia for a three-team, double-round-robin weekend. Baylor’s first game will be Feb. 19 against Georgia at 5 p.m. CST. The Bears face Duke the following day and conclude the weekend with one game against each team Sunday.

Baylor remains at home each of the next three weekends, hosting Western Kentucky for a three-game series (Feb. 26-28), Oral Roberts for a four-game series (March 5-7) and Illinois-Chicago for a three-game series (March 12-14).

Big 12 Conference play begins the weekend of March 19-21 as the Bears travel to Oklahoma. Baylor’s first Big 12 home series is the following weekend (March 26-28) against Kansas. The Bears also welcome Nebraska (April 23-25) and Oklahoma State (May 21-23) for three-game series. Baylor also travels to Missouri (April 2-4), Kansas State (April 16-18) and Texas Tech (May 14-16).

Baylor will play traditional split-series against Texas and Texas A&M for the 18th consecutive year this season. The Bears and Aggies meet Friday, April 9, at College Station with the series shifting to Baylor Ballpark for single games each of the next two days. Baylor and Texas open their series Friday, April 30, in Waco before moving to Austin for the final two games of the series the next two days.

The Bears return 18 letterwinners from a 2009 squad that finished 30-26 and made the program’s 10th NCAA appearance in 12 years.


College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme