College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Fresno State Wins WAC Tournament

Fresno State

Fresno State


Fresno State’s Jordan Ribera hit a two-run homer in the first game of the day and followed it up with another in the championship as Fresno State defeated New Mexico State 9-7 in game one and 5-3 in the final to claim its fourth-straight WAC Tournament baseball title. Ribera went 2-for-3 in the championship game with two RBI, a home run and two runs scored. Matt Morse picked up the win in the championship after going 2.2 innings without giving up a run.  Fresno State receives the WAC’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. Pairings for the tournament will be announced Monday at 12:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.

All-Tournament Team

C – Kevin Fujii, Hawai‘i

1B – Mike Sodders, New Mexico State

2B – Danny Muno, Fresno State

SS – Kyle Bellows, San Jose State

3B – Tom Mendonca, Frenso State

OF – Devon Dageford, Louisiana Tech

OF – Richard Stout, New Mexico State

OF – Gavin Hedstrom, Fresno State

DH – Jordan Ribera, Fresno State

P – Derek Benny, Fresno State

P – DJ Simon, New Mexico State

MVP – Jordan Ribera, Fresno State

Fresno State defeated New Mexico State 9-7 in Sunday’s first game, forcing a final championship game, between the two schools which is set for 3:45 p.m. HT. Jordan Ribera led th Bulldogs with a 3-for-5 performance at the plate that included a home run with a pair of RBI that helped clinch the win. Tom Mendonca also  had pair of hits with a home run. Holden Sprague was credited with the win on the mound after going 4.1 innings with a pair of strikeouts. Kyle Decater led NM State with two hits and an RBI.

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme