College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Brooks Wallace Award Finalists

bwa-logo-2009LUBBOCK, Texas – The finalists for the Brooks Wallace Award, honoring the nation’s top shortstop, have been selected by the College Baseball Foundation. The finalist watch list is sponsored by Mizuno.

“It was a very tough decision,” said Raymond Richardson, College Baseball Awards Show chairman and CBF Trustee. “All five of these players are standouts.”

The list of finalists features shortstops from across the country, including two players from the Big West Conference – Christian Colon of Cal State Fullerton and Ben Orloff of UC-Irvine. Also included are Brian Marquez of New Mexico State, Jedd Gyorko of West Virginia and Bryant Hernandez of Oklahoma.

Colon has a .352 batting average with 14 doubles, two triples and seven home runs. He also has 28 RBIs and a .962 fielding percentage.

Orloff has the top fielding percentage among the finalists at .977. He also has a .358 batting average, with 10 double, one triple and 20 RBIs.

Brian Marquez of New Mexico State finished the season with a .421 batting average, 22 home runs and 81 RBIs. He also had 12 doubles and one triple.

Jedd Gyorko of West Virginia leads the finalists in doubles with 27. The sophomore also has a .410 batting average, one triple, eight home runs and 53 RBIs.

Bryant Hernandez of Oklahoma enters the post-season with a .360 batting average with 12 doubles, three triples and 11 home runs. He also has 58 RBIs and a .921 fielding percentage.

The CBF, the Dick Howser Committee and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association will announce the recipients of the 2009 college baseball awards as well as the Dick Howser Trophy finalists on June 13 in Omaha, Neb. This will lead in to a great week of college baseball at the 2009 NCAA College World Series.

The Brooks Wallace Award officially will be presented on July 2 in Lubbock as part of the College Baseball Awards Show, which will recognize the top players in college baseball. In addition to the Brooks Wallace Award, other awards presented during the show will include the Dick Howser Trophy for the national player of the year, and the National Pitcher of the Year Award. The College Baseball Awards Show will be complimented by the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony as part of the July 1st through July 4th college baseball celebration.

Name School Conference
Christian Colon Cal State Fullerton Big West
Bryan Marquez New Mexico State WAC
Bryant Hernandez Oklahoma Big 12
Ben Orloff UC-Irvine Big West
Jedd Gyorko West Virginia Big East

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme