College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

College Baseball Foundation Pitcher of the Year Seminfinalists Announced

cbfpitchingoftheyearLUBBOCK, Texas — The College Baseball Foundation has narrowed the list of players to 15 semifinalists for the Pitcher of the Year Award.

Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State continues to mow down hitters with his NCAA-leading 164 strikeouts and added a no-hitter to his list of accomplishments on May 8 in a win against Air Force. He is 11-0 with a 1.24 ERA in 87.1 innings of work.

“Stephen continues to be impressive week after week and he’s putting up some phenomenal numbers,” said Landon Holly, Pitcher of the Year Award chairman. “It should be really interesting to see how the rest of the season plays out.”

Strasburg is joined on the semifinalist list by his SDSU teammate Addison Reed, who has recorded a minuscule 0.42 ERA and 17 saves.

The Big 12 Conference leads all conferences in representation with three players on the semifinalist list — A.J. Morris of Kansas State, Austin Wood of Texas and Brooks Raley of Texas A&M.

Other conferences with multiple semifinalists include the ACC and the Big 10.

“It’s really impressive to see the pitching depth in some of these conferences,” Holly said. “I think it speaks highly of the quality of play in the conferences.”


Name School Conference

Mike Leake Arizona State PAC 10

Deck McGuire Georgia Tech ACC

Eric Arnett Indiana Big 10

A.J. Morris Kansas State Big 12

Louis Coleman Louisiana State SEC

Kyle Bellamy Miami ACC

Buddy Baumann Missouri State MVC

Daniel Calhoun Murray State OVC

Alex Wimmers Ohio State Big 10

Mark Serrano Oral Roberts Summit League

Addison Reed San Diego State Mountain West

Stephen Strasburg San Diego State Mountain West

Austin Wood Texas Big 12

Brooks Raley Texas A&M Big 12

Daniel Bibona UC Irvine Big West

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme