College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

CBF Releases 2009 Brooks Wallace Shortstop Watch List Sponsored by Mizuno

bwa-logo-2009LUBBOCK, Texas — With conference play in full swing across the country, the College Baseball Foundation and Mizuno have announced the initial watch list for the 2009 Brooks Wallace Award. For the first time since its creation in 2004, the Wallace Award will honor the country’s finest shortstop. Previously, the Wallace Award was given to the national player of the year.

The change was made following the creation of the College Baseball Awards Show, in collaboration with the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and the Dick Howser Trophy Committee. The Howser Trophy has recognized the best overall player in the country for 23 years and will continue to do so. Both the Wallace Award and the Howser Award will be presented as part of the College Baseball Awards Show on July 2 in Lubbock.

“Transitioning the Wallace Award to a position player award will give increased attention to the position that Brooks Wallace played when he was in college,” said Raymond Richardson, CBF board member and College Baseball Awards Show chair. “The Wallace family embraced this idea and we are thrilled to honor Brooks in this way.”

The watch list features shortstops from around the country, including three from the Big 12, ACC, Big West and Conference USA.

Brian Marquez of New Mexico State makes the list with 60 RBIs, 18 home runs and a .393 batting average.

Drew Lee of Morehead State leads in batting average, hitting .465 with 14 home runs and 49 RBIs. Also making the list is Baylor’s Shaver Hanson, who is hitting .354, with 13 home runs and 38 RBIs.

The College Baseball Awards Show will recognize the top players in college baseball as part of the CBF’s annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. In addition to the Brooks Wallace Award, other awards presented during the show will include the Dick Howser Trophy for the national player of the year, and the National Pitcher of the Year Award.

Name School Conference
Shaver Hanson Baylor Big 12
Kyle Smith Cal Poly Big West
Christian Colon Cal State Fullerton Big West
Brian Guinn California Pac-10
Zach Kayne Davidson Southern
Dustin Harrington East Carolina CUSA
Jordan Kreke Eastern Illinois OVC
Mike Mooney Florida SEC
Steven Wickens Florida Gulf Coast Atlantic Sun
Stephen Cardullo Florida State ACC
Brian Pierce Georgia Southern Southern
Dereck Dietrich Georgia Tech ACC
Brandon Wikoff Illinois Big 10
David Herbek James Madison Colonial
Drew Biery Kansas State Big 12
Daniel Bierce Lafayette Patriot
Ben Soignier Louisiana Monroe Sun Belt
Nick DiMauro Mercer Atlantic Sun
Drew Lee Morehead State OVC
Bryan Marquez New Mexico St. WAC
Bryant Hernandez Oklahoma Big 12
Juan Martinez Oral Roberts Summit
Jeff Kemp Radford Big South
Dan Rhault Rhode Island Atlantic 10
Rick Hague Rice CUSA
Ryan Bennett Saint Louis Atlantic 10
Sean Nicol San Diego WCC
Kyle Bellows San Jose State WAC
Gary Helmick Towson Colonial
Josh Prince Tulane CUSA
Ben Orloff UC Irvine Big West
Grant Green USC Pac-10
Matt Duffy Vermont America East
Tyler Cannon Virginia ACC
Jedd Gyorko West Virginia Big East
Terrence Dayleg Western Kentucky Sun Belt
Tyler Grimes Wichita State MVC

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme