College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Baylor Baseball Announces 2009 Meet the Team Dinner

Baylor BALLPARK- Picture Provided by Donald J Boyles

Baylor BALLPARK- Picture Provided by Donald J Boyles


WACO, Texas — Baylor baseball will host its inaugural Meet the Team dinner Monday, Jan. 26, 2009, in the Galloway Suite at Floyd Casey Stadium. Doors open at 6:30 p.m. CST with festivities scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. Limited tickets are on sale for $25 through the Baylor baseball office, which can be reached at 254.710.3029.

Former Baylor great and current Major Leaguer Jason Jennings will be the guest of honor. Jennings , who was the first unanimous National Collegiate Player of the Year in 1999, recently concluded his eighth year of service in the Major Leagues. The 2002 National League Rookie of the Year, Jennings spent six seasons with the Colorado Rockies and one season with the Houston Astros before joining the Texas Rangers last year.

Baylor returns 19 letterwinners this season, including eight position starters and six pitchers. Returning offensive stars include infielders Raynor Campbell (.311, 4 HR, 26 RBI in 2008), Dustin Dickerson (.313, 4, 43) and Shaver Hansen (.326, 6, 47), and outfielders Ben Booker (.286, 7, 44) and Aaron Miller (.295, 12, 45). Campbell was a 2007 Freshman All-America selection, while Hansen earned All-Big 12 honors last season.

The Bears return three pitchers who each started at least 10 games last season in right-handers Willie Kempf (6-2, 3.69 ERA in 2008), Shawn Tolleson (6-4, 5.06) and Kendal Volz (3-6, 4.20). Tolleson was an All-Big 12 selection last season, while Volz is considered one of the top 10 prospects for June’s MLB First-Year Player Draft.

Catcher Gregg Glime, Kempf, Miller and Volz have been selected as team captains for the 2009 season, which opens with a three-game series Feb. 20-22 against University of the Pacific at Baylor Ballpark.

Updated: January 12, 2009 — 11:27 pm
College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme