College Baseball Daily

Number 1 Source for College Baseball News

Corvallis Knights win WCCBL pennant

The Corvallis (OR) Knights swept a best-of-three series against the Wenatchee (WA) AppleSox to win their first West Coast Collegiate Baseball League championship. The AppleSox won the championship in 2006 and 2007.

The Knights won the first game of the series 6-4 (11 innings) in Wenatchee. The star of that game was Doug Cherry (Washington), who went 4-5, reached base six times, and was spectacular on defense. He drew a walk in the ninth to bring in the tying run and send the game into extra innings. Bryant Kraus (Portland) batted in the winning run in the 11th. Taylor Starr (Oregon State) got the win for the Knights.

The second game was at Goss Stadium in Corvallis, Oregon State’s home field. The Knights won 4-1, and the story in this one was Knights starter Josh Osich (Oregon State), who went eight innings, held the AppleSox to three hits, struck out six. Three of the Knights’ runs were batted in by Adam Melker (Cal Poly). The other run came on a home run by Dean Green (Oklahoma State).

The Knights won the National Baseball Congress championship in 2004, when they were located in Aloha, OR.

Drew Heid (Gonzaga) of the Bend Elks won the WCCBL batting title, with an average of .403. Heid is the first-ever WCCBL player to bat over .400 for a season.

College Baseball Daily © 2017 Frontier Theme