Tampa Head Coach Joe Urso named South Region Coach of the Year

TAMPA, Fla. – The American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) announced its 2008 NCAA II South Region teams and awards winners, naming Head Coach Joe Urso South Region Coach of the Year for the third consecutive year. Three Spartans were named to the second team, while sophomore closer Anthony Perez was selected to the first team.

A native of Miami, Fla., Perez has been among the national leaders in saves all season, and is currently tied for first in NCAA Division II with 17 saves. The 6-0, 200-pound right-handed pitcher has posted a 2.22 earned run average this season with 57 strikeouts in 48.2 innings, as well as a 4-1 record to anchor the Spartan bullpen.

Jesus Barroso added another award to his collection this season, being named to the all-South region second team as a second baseman, days after being named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA II South Region Tournament. Joining Barroso on the second team were utility man Nolan Brannon and right-handed pitcher Josh Bowman.

A senior from nearby St. Petersburg, Brannon is currently third on the team with a .371 batting average and is second on the team with 49 RBI while playing in 51 of Tampa’s 52 games this season. Bowman rounds out the list of all-South region performers for the Spartans in his freshman season at Tampa, posting a team-leading 3.24 earned run average in 66.2 innings. The 6-2, 200-pound right-hander is also second on the team with 67 strikeouts, and has held opposing hitters to a .253 batting average to lead the Spartan pitching staff.

First Team All South Region
1B – Bryan Cook, Nova Southeastern University
2B – Maikol Gonzalez, Tusculum College
3B – Gene Howard, Rollins College
SS – Nick Shaw, Barry University
INF – Joe Arminio, Lynn University
OF – Nick Achberger, Carson‐Newman College
OF – David Thomas, Catawba College
OF – Jerry Sands, Catawba College
OF – Gabe MacDougal, Lynn University
C – Christian Rosa, Tusculum College
DH – Nathan Coggins, Albany State University
P – Bobby Hernandez, Barry University
P – Brett Hontz, Carson‐Newman College
P – Blake Ketner, Catawba College
P – Boo Morrow, Tusculum College
RP – Anthony Perez, University of Tampa

Second Team All South Region
1B – Dustin Morrow, Tusculum College
2B – Jesus Barroso, University of Tampa
3B – Dan Ford, Lenoir‐Rhyne College
SS – Chuncey Ward, Albany State University
INF – Nolan Brannon, University of Tampa
OF – Andrew Frezza, Barry University
OF – Austin Boehme, Mars Hill College
OF – Corey Whiting, Rollins College
OF – Carlos Rivera, Tusculum College
C – Mike Dobre, Mars Hill College
DH – Cory Clark, Nova Southeastern University
P – Matt Schurig, Florida Tech
P – Ruddy Garcia, Nova Southeastern University
P – Mario Lombardo, Rollins College
P – Josh Bowman, University of Tampa
P – Raymond Ruggles, Tusculum College
RP – Daniel Tillman, Florida Southern College

Player of the Year: Bryan Cook, Nova Southeastern University
Pitcher of the Year: Brett Hontz, Carson‐Newman College
Region Coach of the Year: Joe Urso, University of Tampa